The Peace That Surpasses All Understanding

April’s Testimony on God’s Peace
(February 29, 2016)

Bible with heart

It is Day Five of Week Four of Priscilla Shirer’s Bible Study, Armor of God. On this particular day there is a place to reflect and write about someone who has a peace-filled life. The assignment is to reflect on their qualities, how do they display this peace and how you have seen this peace protect the person from the enemy.

cup of tea

Yet, as usual, I have my own drumbeat I would like to reflect out of this week’s lessons and lesson on peace. As I sit here typing, early Spring breezes are flowing through my screen door, birds are singing, favorite tunes are playing softly in the background, and, as usual, Smokey is sitting at my feet quietly looking up at me with his dark brown eyes. This is one afternoon I don’t think it could be any more peaceful. I definitely hear my Father’s voice in all that is going on around me. Yes, in the midst of it being Monday and a ‘Leap Day’, Jesus is ever present and accounted for in this very room I sit.

Smokey Monm's Day

As I reflect over this week’s lessons on ‘peace’, I have to go back a little further than just this week. Two years ago I was sitting in this very room searching for that peace only God can give. I knew it existed. I had experienced it before. Yet, my humanness took over. It was there and then where the only thing I felt was the chaos of the world swirling into warp speed. Gasping for air, I was crying out to God seeking his guidance and his peace. The more the world spun the more I searched scriptures, sought wisdom, sought help and clung to the cloak of my Lord and Savior.
Life for me at that moment was going through the motions, being emotional and just trying to get through one day at a time. Yet, somewhere in the midst of the chaos, I felt a tug on my heart. It was the Holy Spirit telling me there was hope.

cropped-girl-looking-at-the-moon2.jpg

It was a slow process but I began to sit and really listen to what the Holy Spirit was saying to me. I knew I had to be like Mary and simply sit down at the feet of Jesus and listen to His small still voice. In the midst of these meetings, He began to heal me and lead me to healing waters.

water ripple

It has been in these healing waters where I have experienced an inner peace that I cannot explain. I have been a believer most of my life. Yet, there was that little piece of humanness that interfered with that peace only God can give. And, the enemy knew it and used it as a weapon against me.
This afternoon, I sit here where I sat two years ago spinning in a world of chaos. I am sitting here with a smile on my face, a smile in my heart and so thankful for so many things and for the many ways God has used these last couple years to mold me. It is like a slow fade in a movie scene.

slow fade

As I reflect, I see where God was at work even on what I thought was the hardest of days. He had a plan and just like the potter spinning the pottery on the wheel, he took me for a spin. Then, little by little he began to chisel away the hurt, the questions, the frustrations and the world I was caught up in.

potter's clay picture two.

In this reflection, I see how God has taught me every step of the way and he is still teaching me what it means to walk in His peace, live in His peace and to seek Him in all that I do. I have learned to smile more, be thankful for the life God has given me. Yes, I have even become thankful for the obstacles, the afflictions and whatever the world brings me. In each every little detail that happens, God’s hand is at work.

eye of love

You see, I had to change my perspective. I had to change how I looked at things and life. God reached his hand out to me and said; “trust ME”, “allow me to lead”, ” I can show you a peace like no other.” I placed my hand into His, re-dedicated myself to Him, allowed to Him to lead me and it has become the most beautiful dance anyone could ever imagine. I’m gracefully and peacefully dancing with my Heavenly Father.

Angels dancing

“How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him who brings good news, who publishes peace, who brings good news of happiness, who publishes salvation, who says to Zion, “Your God reigns.”
(Isaiah 52:7 ESV)

(Dedicated to Women’s Ministries at Macedonia Baptist Church, Owensboro, Kentucky)

 WHO AM I

CASTING CROWNS

#ArmorOfGodStudy

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

