My Journey Continues

 

 Challenges Ahead

You have searched me, LORD

and you know me.

You know when I sit and when I rise,

you perceive my thoughts from afar.

You discern my going out and my lying down,

you are familiar with all my ways. Psalm 139: 1-3

September, 2014 I journeyed with my Potter’s Clay Small Group  in the Bible Study, Stronger by Angela Thomas.  I don’t believe in coincidence but I believe things unfold by God’s design. As this study began, I was in a difficult season of my life. And, as I opened this study, it was what I needed for this particular season.

Stronger

On the days ahead of this journey of the study, Stronger I not only continued to pray but I had never-ending conversations with God. In this midst of this journey, I attempted to continue writing and sharing what God would place on my heart. I must admit writing did not come easy at times. After all, how could I encourage others while being stuck in the mud. Not only did I pray and have these long conversations with God, I also went back and re-read some of my own writings. It is very convicting when you read the words you have shared to encourage others on their journey.  The saying; ‘physician heal thyself” really hit me in between the eyes.

stuck in the mud

It seemed I was stuck in the mud and I could not get out. Just as a car’s wheel spins when stuck in the mud, my wheels were spinning but I was not getting anywhere. Frustrated. Overwhelmed. These are the words that describe where I was at as I began this new study, Stronger.

Morning Coffee

On the very first day of this study, God made me very aware that I was carrying things that I should be surrendering to him.  My grip was tight on the wheel and I was reluctant to let go and let God have full control.  Yet,  on day one of this study, Angela had this prayer.:

God, I want to know you more. I want to learn and grow and understand Your 

powerful words. In so many ways, I desperately  need to become stronger., so teach

me about who You are and the strength You give. Bring your light into my dark places.

For these next pages help me focus on You. Just you LORD. Amen (Stronger page 9)

Wow! This prayer spoke expressed exactly what was on my heart. At that moment and other moments throughout this journey, I got on my knees and surrendered ALL at the feet of Jesus.

giving up

Healing did not take place right at that moment. Instead, the healing was a process. It was one day at time and one prayer at a time. As the days progressed in this study, my eyes began to open more as well as my heart and ears were opening up to hear God’s voice.

As I continued my walk with Stronger, I was on iTunes late one evening. In the midst of finishing up my downloads, the song, Baptism by Kenny Chesney/Randy Travis popped up as a suggested song that I may like. I clicked the play button. It was at that moment where I began to feel  the Holy Spirit nudge me. Tears filled my eyes. I could not wait until morning to share this find and experience with Jim.

Since that night, Jim and I both have about worn this song out. The more I listened to the song, the more God spoke to my heart. The Holy Spirit nudged me even more.  I knew I needed to remove the old sack cloth and put on the new cloth of Christ that God had planned for me.

I have shared in my article, Go how God led me to a place of healing.  In another article, It’s On!, I share the results of being obedient and following God’s leading to a place where I could heal.  As I sit here writing, I have my new book, Stronger by Angela Thomas opened to day one.

Beginnings End

I did the Stronger  study in the Fall, 2014 with my Potter’s Clay small group. Then I had the opportunity to journey through this study once again with my Wednesday night Bible Study group.  As I took this journey of Stronger one more time, tears were in my eyes as I read the introduction to this study for the second time.  It was in reading this introduction, I saw where I had been and  how God continues to lead me to new territory.  I could  see how and where God  had made me stronger.

Oh! The joy that fills my soul! It is no coincidence that God has brought me to full circle. It was  not a coincidence that I did this study for a second time. It was all in God’s divine intervention of my life. My journey continues.…and I can’t wait to see where God is going to take me!

my heart will ever sing

He has made everything beautiful in its time. 

Ecclesiastes 3:11

Bible with heart

This post is dedicated to two very special loving group of ladies. The first group being Potter’s Clay that I was a part of for many years.  The second group being  my current Wednesday night Bible Study. So glad God has blessed me with these wonderful ladies on my faith journey.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

