Time to Stop and Enjoy the Snow

Snow Days 2015
Snow Days 2015

For the last two days, Facebook has been inundated with pictures such as the one taken of my back yard. We are in the midst of Winter Storm 2015.  As I posted this picture with a couple more on Facebook, I received comments such as “how beautiful!”  My thoughts were “right…..just wait and see what it will look like in a few days.”

Snow is beautiful when it first falls and covers the ground. Yet, as the hours and days go by, you don’t see the beauty of the snow, but it is gradually becomes a brown/black slush due to cars commuting, and snow removal equipment coming through every so often.

Yesterday, as I took some pictures of the snow for friends and family to see back home, I was reminded of our Father. I was reminded of how he sent His Son to die so that my sins would be cleansed as white as snow. Thus, the snow reminding me of Jesus’ cleansing blood.

“Come now, let us settle the matter,” says the LORD.

Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be white as snow; though they

are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.”

Isaiah 1:18 

Regarding the black slush that is to come with the snow, it  reminds me of our faith journey. When we become Christians, we are not promised a Rose Parade. There are going to be times where we are going to experience some sort of slush in our lives. The difference in being a believer and a non-believer is that when we receive Christ into our hearts, we are in a community  of believers that will walk with us and pray for us. We also have Jesus who is with us on every step of the journey.

But is we walk in the light, as he is in the light we will have fellowship with one another,

and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.”

1 John 1:7

The quietness and stillness of the snow is a gentle reminder of God wanting to us to sit in his presence for a while. He is saying to us; be still.”  This is a wonderful time to reflect on how God has blessed us and to share what is on our hearts. It is a time to be quiet and listen to that small still voice.

 He says, “Be still and know that I am God;

Psalm 46:10

Up until yesterday, this Georgia peach has never really liked the snow. Yet, as I looked out my window and as I took pictures, I realized it was time to stop and enjoy the snow (from indoors that is).

 et

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

