“Through the Years”

My Dearest Jim,

This year has been quite the year! We have had hurdles to jump and storms to ride out. This year has been one of those mile marker years for us. In a few days we will celebrate  our twenty-ninth wedding anniversary. 

As I began to think about our anniversary, I turned to 1 Peter 3:7.

Husbands, in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat

them with respect as the weaker partner and as heirs with you of the gracious

gift of life, so that nothing will hinder your prayers.

Through the years, you have exemplified this scripture in your daily walk with me.  You have done this in the following ways:

You are sensitive to my needs.

You are there to dry my tears.

You  pick me up when I fall  down.

You honor and love the LORD your God.

You love me unconditionally and encourage me in my endeavors.

You have given me insight with such grace. 

You never give me a reason to ever doubt you.

Not only have you exemplified this scripture in your daily walk with me but you also had such an influence on the man our son is today. I know without a doubt Drew walks this scripture with his wife, Megan.  What a beautiful gift you have given me by being the Godly man you are and being that example to Drew. 

Through The Years
Through The Years

Looking back over our life together,  I see where the blessings have shined in the midst of the storms. I see the laughter we have shared with one another. There have been so many precious memories we have created together. 

 When I reflect back I see the oops’ and the uh-oh’s that took place.  I would not trade those moments for anything. It is in those times we learned about each other and we grew stronger as a couple. 

The lyrics to the song “Through the Years” say it all….through all the good and bad, I know how much we have. I have always been glad to be with you. It gets better everyday.

970123_516352575086464_1401387437_n

In the years ahead, I know we will always be strong together and for each other. I know through the years ahead I will learn even more about life. We still have  a few more storms to ride and uh-oh’s and oops’ to experience but will be these experiences where we will experience the greatest blessings.

On our wedding day, we walked down the aisle to the  song, “I’ll Walk With God” with changing the lyric to “We’ll Walk With God”.  It has been a beautiful walk and I look forward to the journey ahead of us.

Jim, thank you for being there for me and with me through the years.  

I Love You, 

April

Your ‘brown-eyed girl”

Happy Anniversary, Jim

November 23, 2014

One thought on ““Through the Years”

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

