An Angel In My Path

 Keep loving each other as brothers. Do not forget to entertain strangers, 

for by so doing some people have entertained angels without know it.”

Hebrews 13:1-2

Smokey
Smokey My angel who reminds me of God’s unconditional love for me.

In the last month, Smokey and I have begun volunteering at our local hospital.  When I adopted Smokey I didn’t dream at the time that there would be a ministry for me with this pup that has become joined at the hip with me. This past January, we had him certified as an Emotional Support Assist dog. We primarily had him certified for me.  However, over the last couple of years, he has shown us the gift he has in bringing comfort to other people. Thus, my adopting him has evolved in to a ministry of sorts.

Love God

This morning as Smokey and I finished up our visits at the hospital,  we encountered a couple of the family members sitting outside  that we had encountered earlier  in one of  the family waiting areas.  I stopped once again to say hello and let them love on Smokey one more time. The conversation progressed and  this one particular family member began to share her story  and  journey.  The more she shared the more her story resonated in my heart and mind.   I heard the  echoes of events that have taken place on my faith journey. This past week had been a week of emotion and my spiritual wellness being drained.  Tears welled up in my eyes because I was not only listening to her story  but through her sharing she was ministering to me.

In our conversation, we shared how important it is to count our blessings especially in times of trials. I told her that the first blessing we receive every morning is that God wakes us up. She went on with that thought and said; “you are right.”And; ” if God wakes you up in the mornings he has a plan and purpose for you for the day.” This lady went on to say that it is important to not only count your blessings every day but because we are blessed to do at least one kind thing for someone during the day.  We both agreed that among the trials in life there is hope and there are blessings.

God's blessings

As I wrapped up my conversation with her,  God placed the following words on my heart to share with this sweet lady. The words were; God doesn’t promise us perfect days but he promises us A Perfect Day in his time.”

Earlier this week, I was struggling with exhaustion, with hurt and the yearning to be lifted and healed emotionally and spiritually. And, here I was at a hospital for where the sick go to be treated and hopefully healed. Yet,  I was being healed by someone right outside the hospital  doors by a sweet lady with kindness and love in her eyes and voice as she talked to me.   Needless to say, I walked to my car feeling wrapped up in the Holy Spirit’s arms with tears of healing streaming down my face.

feather

I truly believe God has his angels walking among us. This morning, I was blessed by an angel.  This person may not realize the impact they made on my life in those few briefs moments but she was my angel with the words I needed to hear.

God is good!

All the time!

May you be showered with blessings in the days ahead.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

