Absorb the Moment

‘I realize that there’s nothing better for them to do than to be cheerful 

and 

enjoy what is good in their lives.

Ecclesiastes 3:12

 

Over the summer, I have done very little writing. Instead, I have found myself reflecting of years past and absorbing the moments given to me each day.  As I grow older, time moves even faster. This song, “You’re Gonna Miss This” resonates and reminds me of how fast time flies by. I have found myself making it more of a priority to enjoy the people around me and the creation around me. Deadlines and clean houses can wait if there is an opportunity to soak up a moment that will never come back. I want to capture that moment when I see a butterfly resting on my butterfly bush, or the hummingbirds fighting over who has a turn to get the nectar out of the feeder.

butterfly

I love the quote; “don’t get caught up in making a living to the point you forget to make a life.” The world is at a faster pace than it has ever been. It is so easy to get caught up in what we are doing and what is going on that we forget to stop and absorb the moment.

hummingbird

Capturing every little moment you can became very real and clear for me over the past holiday season. My father-n-law had cancer and was in a decline with the battle. We were at my sister-in-law’s for Thanksgiving dinner and as the family began to get up from the table and start clearing, I looked across the room and there sat Jim’s dad. He had a smile on his face and I could tell he was soaking up every little detail, every word said and simply savoring the moment to the fullest. He did not want to miss a thing. It is an image that will never escape my memory or my heart.

Granddaddy enjoying his family.
Granddaddy enjoying his family.

As I sit on the front porch of the Butterfly House at Lake Junaluska,  I share and update Mom on the people I have re-connected with from our days gone by. I share how some of the ones I grew up with are now  raising kids, have kids in high school/college, and/or becoming grandparents and retiring.  Mom says; “it seems like you all ought to be loading up in the car heading to the school for a dance, band practice or a game.”  Yet, we are the ones sitting on the sidelines like our parents and grandparents would do cheering our children,  grandchildren, nieces, and nephews on.  Just as the Steve Miller lyric says; ” time keeps on moving, moving to the future.”

Jim soaking up the moments around him at the Butterfly House, Lake Junaluska, NC
Jim soaking up the moments around him at the Butterfly House, Lake Junaluska, NC

As time moves forward, I am reminded of the days when I was a kid and wanted to grow up so fast. Sadly, the world is a hurried place. We rush from here to there. It is easy to get frustrated when the demands of every day living and survival are in over drive. However, it is in these moments when we need to stop. We need to look around and tune our hearts to God’s voice. It is when we do this we find peace in a hectic world and we see blessings all around us.

Are you overwhelmed? Frustrated? Seek God. Listen to God. Know that every moment that takes place is a snap shot that will never come again.

Have a blessed day!

 

Feel God

One thought on “Absorb the Moment

  1. Thank you for this wise reminder! We have two young girls and another one right on his/her way any day now. We have a ministry we oversee. I’m trying to finish my first book, establish some businesses, continuing to put new blog entries in, and still try to make time for the really important things: personal time with God and meaningful times with my spouse. In a hurried world sometimes you forget to stop and smell the wonder of God’s grace, so thank you. And God bless.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

