My Pleasure

“Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.”

Mother Teresa

 Chick fil a

My Pleasure

Any time you enter a Chick fil A restaurant, you will be greeted by a server behind the counter with them saying; it’s a great day to eat at Chick Fil A, how may I help you? Once your order is filled and the server hands you your tray, they will say; it was my pleasure. If you should go back to the counter for a refill or some other need, that  need will be taken care of with a smile and the words; my pleasure.

Excuses

excuses

Each day opportunities present themselves for us to serve others. However, there are times when we don’t acknowledge those opportunities. We have an excuse for not answering the call to help others.

  • I really don’t have the time.
  • I don’t know if I have the skill to do that task.
  • I will help more when I retire.
  • When I get my first million I will begin to give back.
  • I am too old to be a part of such an opportunity.
  • I am too young to be part of such an opportunity.
  • What difference would doing this small task make?

Arguing with God

Philippians

When I write out these excuses and think about them, I think about Moses when God called him to lead the people out of slavery. Moses had every excuse in the book to give back to God. He told God that he could not talk before Pharoh and to go ask his brother Aaron to talk to Pharoh. After much back and forth, Moses finally obeyed God. He went  and  talked to Pharoh and lead the people out of Egypt.  (Exodus 3)

Opportunities

how can I help

Everyday, God places opportunities in our path. He may not call us to do something on such a big scale as leading people out of slavery. But, God calls us to make a difference. We may not feel adequate or qualified to the calling and that is where we have to trust God’s leading. After all, we are familiar with the quote; he doesn’t call the qualified but he qualifies the called.

The video at the beginning of this page is an example of people being in tuned to what is around them. Whether they realize it or not, they are obeying the commandment; love one another. It is the small act of kindness that may make a difference for someone’s day and/or life.

In my life time, I have been a recipient of something small done  for me that made a big difference in my life. One special memory I have of someone taking time to help me is a little boy by the name, Jimmy.

A Boy Named, Jimmy

tying shoes

At one of my dad’s early appointments in his ministry, Dad was in charge of over seeing one of our Methodist campgrounds. Over the summer, many camps would take place for all ages and needs. One week out of the summer, there was a camp for mentally challenged children. In this group was a little boy named, Jimmy. I was about four or five years old when I first met Jimmy. For some reason, we connected. Where Jimmy was I was not too far behind him.

This particular mid-summer morning, we were outside the dinning hall playing. My shoe became untied and although Jimmy could not really talk very well, in his own way he communicated to me to sit down on the ground with him. Instead of tying my shoe, he untied my other shoe. Then, he took my shoes off and placed one shoe in his lap and the other shoe in my lap. With a smile on his face and in the best way he could communicate he began to teach me how to tie my shoes. By the time the lunch bell rang, I had learned to tie my shoes.

I share this story about Jimmy because despite the challenges he had, he saw a need. He saw I needed to learn to tie my shoes. As he showed me how to tie my shoe, you could see compassion and love coming from his heart. Yes, I was only four or  five at the time but when I see that scene as vividly as the day that it took place, I see his face beaming because he had helped someone and he had a purpose. And, thanks to Jimmy I haven’t had to worry about tripping over my shoe laces.

With Great Love

Luke

In the video at the beginning of this article, we see people seeing a need and stopping to help. Some of these events are small ones but they make and/or made a difference for someone. The gentleman in the break room wiping the spill up off the floor probably kept someone from coming in and slipping. The lady at the bus stop forgoing getting on the bus to help the gentleman pick up his papers that fell on the sidewalk.  Who knows? Maybe, her stopping to help pick up the papers saved the gentleman from being late to a meeting and/or losing an important document.

You see, we don’t know how that one small thing we do with GREAT love will make a difference in the bigger picture of life. My challenge for you today is that when you wake up in the morning, tune in to God and be ready to respond to his calling.  Don’t worry about not having the ability because he will make sure you are qualified. Do what he has called you to do with an attitude of GREAT love and with the response; my pleasure.

Check out Mark Bezos’ Testimony:

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

