Blessings in a Bad Day

It Was Going To Be A GREAT Day!

A GREAT day

Today was going to be a GREAT day. I was finally getting back to my morning small group after being pulled away due to family events and personal illness. The weather was finally going to be like Spring after so many winter snowy days without sun. After group, I would be on my way to the grocery to pick up a few things including a couple of steaks to initiate the grill for the season this evening. Then, home for lunch on the porch and some reading and possible writing.

It was great getting back into group and discussing the importance of forgiveness. We discussed the importance of asking for and accepting forgiveness. Along with asking for forgiveness and receiving it, we also discussed that once forgiveness takes place we need to let go and move forward. We walk in God’s grace, practice God’s grace and are aware of God’s grace in ALL of our daily interactions. After all, this is the example Jesus set for us as He walked this earth.

Off To The Grocery

When leaving small group and heading to the grocery, I did not realize how soon God was going to give me a lesson in grace. I enter the grocery and in no time have all the items I needed. Off to the check out counter I  go. As I approach the many lanes I see long lines. Well, I got what I needed in timely fashion but it looks like it is going to take forever to check out I said to myself. Walking to find a short lane, I find a lane with no one in it except for one lady who was looking at magazines just before you get to the counter. Ma’am, are you in line? I asked her because I did not want to jump in front of her. She sweetly smiled and said; oh, no. Please go on ahead of me. I am still looking.  I politely thanked her and proceeded to check out. 

As the transaction was being completed, I was still fumbling with my wallet and purse and had not placed the bags in my cart. Without realizing it, the clerk had sweetly put my bags into my cart. I thank her and she smiled and said; my pleasure. You have a wonderful afternoon. Needless to say, I walked out with a smile on my face and in my heart.

Suddenly, I Get That Feeling In the Pit of My Stomach as I Hear Metal Crunching…

cars colliding

Car loaded up and ready to head for home for that much look forward to lunch on the porch and that quiet time of reading. As I got in the car I noticed that the cars that had pulled in beside me had made it a little tight for me to get out. Aware of my surroundings, I knew that I needed to be fully focused on getting out of this tight spot. I began to slowly back out of my place with the awareness of a car a couple of spaces behind me getting ready to back out. Slowly pulling out and watching this car, I suddenly hear the sound of metal going crunch!

Oh no! Where did that come from? What did I hit? I was watching what was around me? As I looked to my right I see a red vehicle much bigger than mine. Yes, we had collided. Although, the day had been off to a good start, my heart sank. Tears rolled down my eye. I cried out to God; Can I just get a break?! It seems lately I get back on my feet and something happens! With tears in my eyes, I get out of my car and immediately call Jim to come to the parking lot that I have been in a minor accident. After I hung from Jim I approach the young lady I had collided with tears still rolling down my face.

The Exchange

exchanging information

I am so sorry were the words I spoke to her as I approached her. She saw my state of mind and threw her arms around me and hugged me. She said it is okay. It is fixable and only metal. I told her that it has been a rough couple of months and this was something that I just didn’t need. Her response was oh, I am so sorry. Bless your heart.  I immediately told her that I did not see her. She replied. it was no one’s fault. It just happened. You were watching for a car and I was doing the same. Thus, we were in each other’s blind spots and it simply happened.

The police arrived and asked what happened. He also agreed that in situations such as these that it happens and there is really no reporting anyone at fault. As we handed our insurance and license to the officer, Jim noticed we had the same insurance carrier. We agreed with having the same insurance already put us in the right direction of getting the vehicles fixed.

The young lady, Jim and I talked and exchanged other information while we waited for the report to be written up. As we talked, we had the feeling we knew each other from another time and place but could not recall. Our paths had been in similar places but we could never pinpoint where they may have crossed. Yet, it was a time of getting to know someone else.

Once the officer gave us the information we needed. The young lady, Jim and I shook hands. As we shook hands; this sweet young lady said; it was a pleasure meeting you and talking to you. I just hate it was in this way. We agreed we would be in touch with repairs and said we knew it would all work out.

What Does This Have To Do With Grace/Forgiveness?:

seeing God in every day life

You see from the time I was ready to check out with my grocery items I had encounter God’s grace. I had seen him at work blessing me. He blessed me with the kind lady who told me to go ahead in line. Then as I got out of my car after hearing the crunch of fenders hitting another, he blessed me with a sweet, understanding young lady who reached out hugged me and assured all would be okay. She may not realize it but it was her spirit that ministered to me whether she realized it or not. What sometimes can be an ugly scene was a moment of kindness and patience. All along, God was blessing me through these chain of events.

Yet, as I went to get in my car, I had not seen the blessings just yet. Once again, I broke  down in tears this time in Jim’s arms. As he held me in his arms, I told him I was so sorry for the inconvenience I put him through by pulling him from work and the inconvenience it would be to get the car fixed with all that has already taken place and is still going on, he just held me and said; it is okay Peanut. This is why I pay an insurance bill every month. I have been married to you for twenty-nine years and this is the first real accident you have ever had on our watch together and it isn’t that big of a deal.” He hugged me tight and told me to go home have some lunch and just relax.

The afternoon progressed and in that I had my little pity party. Yet, in the midst of this pity party, I got down on my knees and asked God to intervene. I asked him to bring me peace. It is in doing this my eyes and heart were opened. I began to see God’s hand in ALL that I had been through earlier that day.

How It Could Have Been But Wasn’t

jeremiah 29

You see, the grocery could have been so busy that it could have taken me longer to get the things I needed. Instead of the lady with the full grocery cart telling me to go ahead, she could have told me she was in line and gone ahead of me.  The clerk did not have to place my things in my cart for me but she did. And, when the accident occurred, the young lady could have been anything but nice. When Jim arrived on the scene, he could have been put out being called away from work. Upset and question me if I was paying attention. But, such was not the case in each situation.

In each situation grace was extended to me. Grace by allowing me to get head in line. Grace with the clerk helping me with my groceries and especially grace was shown to me from the young lady I collided with me. You see in a time of inconvenience and frustration, God blessed me with his grace. He blessed me with putting kind and caring people in my path.

Praise God From Whom ALL Blessings Flow

1240240_533326376743845_591194273_n

As I write this, I feel God’s peace. I see all the blessings God had planned for me in each situation I was placed in. All in all, I can only say these words; Praise God from whom ALL Blessings flow! God is good! All the time!!

No matter the daily situations we are placed in good or bad, God is there as long as we acknowledge his presence. He is ready to bless us. We just have to be willing to accept the blessings and walk in his grace. It is in all the situations that he places us in we are being molded even more into his likeness.

Had a bad day? Sit down and reflect on that day/situation and see where God was at work. Seek the blessings he placed before you.

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

Romans 12:17

Had a bad day/situation? Watch the video and see how a bad day can turn into something good.

After all, God is good ALL the time and there are blessings through it all!

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

