God, I Simply Give Up!

giving up

The beginning of 2014 has been a rough start for my family and especially me. It seems that when I begin to get into a routine something else happens. There are times when I want to throw my hands up in the air and say; God I simply give up! It is NO use! Yet, I know that throwing my hands up in the air is not the answer to all that has happened.

How Are You Holding Up?

Some people have asked how have I held up in the midst of all the calamity that has taken place. I smile and say; it is just one day at a time. I know it is all a part of God’s refining me and sometimes refining my family into more of His likeness. 

Yet, there is more to acknowledging that it is part of God’s refinement. It is more than just taking it one day at a time. Over the years and especially even more so in recent months, I have come to realize that in the midst of calamity, that we must seek refuge just as we seek physical refuge in the midst of a storm.

sea shells

Seeking Refuge

What, who and where is my refuge?  My refuge is sitting quietly in a room and opening my heart to his holy presence. In other words, I seek refuge in the arms of his Son, Jesus.  It is in my prayers that I lay all that is happening at the feet of Jesus. As I lay these things at the feet of Jesus, I simply ask God to embrace me in his arms. It is no different from when a small child wants to be held by a loved one when they are hurting.

In the midst of this quiet time and allowing God to embrace me in his arms, is where I find peace. I see how far God has brought me. He assures me that he will not leave me. There is affirmation that God has my back and he is my shelter. And, as the storms calm down, he will raise me up and take care of me beyond what I think I need.

There are many verses in the bible reminding us that God is our refuge. This morning, I turn to Psalm 46:1 which is a simple verse that anyone can engrave on their heart.

God is our refuge, and strength, and ever-present help in trouble. 

you raise me up

How To Seek Refuge

On the days when the walls seem to be closing in and you simply feel like giving up,  I encourage you to stop wherever you are and quote Psalm 46:1 to yourself. Find a quiet place and seek his holy presence.  Seeking refuge in God can provide strength no matter the situation.  Allow God to hold you and raise you up.

I was pushed back and about to fall, but the Lord helped me. 

The Lord is my strength and defense, he has become my salvation.

Psalm 118:13-14

