boy looking in telescopte

My Dearest Jim,

This week has been a celebration of lives joining together and becoming new families. On Monday, my parents celebrated fifty-one years of joining hands to walk life’s journey together.  Today, we celebrate the fifty-seven years of your mom and dad walking together in life’s journey. On Saturday, we will celebrate our  twenty-eight years of being married.

Jim and Louise Hawkins Celebrate 57 years together.

Jim and Louise Hawkins
Celebrate 57 years together.

dad party0018

CR and Jackie Hill
Celebrate fifty-one years together.

This past summer we celebrated meeting each other which was thirty years ago. We were blessed to celebrate  our meeting each other with the  many people we worked with thirty years ago at a staff reunion. In  this celebration of our hearts meeting, I see so many reflections.

Our wedding day... November 23, 1985 Conyers First UMC Conyers, Georgia

Our wedding day…
November 23, 1985
Conyers First UMC
Conyers, Georgia

The night we met we were  literally looking into each others’ eyes as part of an ice breaker game. At that moment and time, I saw a person with a lot of love and a heart for others.  It was at that moment I fell in love with you. Yes, it was love at first sight.

eye of love

Over the years, I have looked into your eyes so many times. Each time it is like looking into them for the first time.. When you look back at me I see God’s love shining through. I see a man of faith and a man who has a great love for his fellow-man. Your eyes reflect to me grace, hope and love in abundance.

970123_516352575086464_1401387437_n

Reflecting back I remember not only the first time I looked into your eyes but I see so many special moments we have shared.  For example, the first time I flew from Atlanta to Lexington, KY to meet up with you. As I walked off the plane I saw your eyes smiling at me. They were saying; “I love you. I’m glad that you are here with me.”   I look back at certain moments I see the laughter in your eyes when I have done something totally goofy or said something goofy.

There have been times over the years when things have gotten tough and I look into your eyes and see hope. I see you saying; “I love you and we will get through this.”  A tear may fall from your eye but I know it is because you care and love so deeply that you want to what you can to make a situation better.

scan0002

Jim and I
Our dating years
1983

Most of all, I have seen and continue to see the qualities in your eyes  that are most important and don’t fade away with time. These qualities are integrity, a close relationship with your Creator and most of all sincerity. You love not just me out of the abundance of your heart but you love others with true compassion and sincerity. 

056Over the years, what I see in your reflection is a love that grows ever more beautiful with each passing day. I have seen and experienced a love that at all cost will make sure I am taken care of, loved and comfortable.  As I read through chapter two of the Song of Songs, I see in the footnotes of chapter one  that it is a remembering of the first day Solomon met the love of his life. They recall the dream his love had about meeting him. Reading this gave me chills because I dreamed about meeting you three days before I looked into your eyes for the first time.

On Saturday,  we will  celebrate twenty-eight years together. Again, we will look into each other eyes. Yes, it will be like the first time all over again of seeing that love, compassion and passion reflecting back at me but the difference is that it will be even more beautiful than the first time our eyes met. “For the first time I’m looking in your eyes; I can’t believe how much I see when I you’re looking back at me…Now I understand why love is….” (Kenny Loggins, For the First Time).

“How beautiful you are, my darling!

Oh, how beautiful!

Your eyes are doves.

Song of Songs 1:15

Music of love.

My dove in the clefts of the rock,

in the hiding places on the mountainside,

show me your face,

let me hear your voice;

for your voice is sweet, and your face is lovely.

Song of Songs 2:14

love

April

 

