English: Apples on an apple-tree. Ukraine. Рус...

This next week the small group that I participate in will complete a study called, No Other gods” By Kelly Minter. Over the years we have done many studies but this one really touched the heart of the matter for me. This study has shown what we may think are simple collections and likes can be in the way of being a blessing for God and God blessing us.

no other gods

In my previous post, Seek God’s Beauty,  I share how the material world gives us the superficial promise that certain products will make us beautiful. These products and their creators will change our lives. Yet, as Christians we know that the only ONE who can change our lives and make us beautiful is our Creator/ Father.

kelly minter quote

Along with the superficial promises of making us beautiful are the lies that we all buy into that promise to make our life complete. In Exodus 20:3, God does not beat around the bush by telling us that we should NOT have any other gods. Yet, we all have them.

receiving the appleWe laugh and say “if Eve had not listened to the snake and eaten the apple, we would all be better off.” Satan convinced Eve that pretty apple was good. He convinced her that she would have wisdom. “Oh, go ahead Eve, take that apple, take a bite and taste its sweet juices.”  Oh, go ahead, one more cookie won’t hurt us.” “Who cares if it isn’t on sale, I deserve this and I want this item.” “You know I have a collection of these and I don’t have this one particular one and I NEED it to make my collection complete.” ” I have worked hard and I have earned this shopping trip.” Any of these statements sound familiar? We have bought these items in hopes to be in with the crowd, to keep up appearances, to impress or because we are promised that life will be better.  Marketing experts will tell you that the biggest consumer in our society is the woman.

woman shopping

Look around your home for the pretty little apples you have bought over time. What are these things doing? Are they bringing you joy or are they an annoyance because you can’t walk into a room because it is so full of pretty  apples that you have bought over time? Are these items a dreaded item you have to pick up to move each time you dust? Maybe there are apples around you that now as you look at them you wonder what you were thinking when you purchased them. Last but not least, have these items brought you closer to God? Have they brought you blessings? Have they made you any wiser?

simple is the new black

I have noticed that my son and daughter-in-law’s generation is not into things. They seem to want the basics. My son and daughter-n-law are more interested in investing in other people. They invest by volunteering to help in the community through their church and work. They invest by spending quality time with family and friends.

lady cleaning

These days I have been cleaning out and getting rid of clothes I have not worn, items I have not used and things I hate to dust. As I do this cleaning out, I feel my soul being cleansed and my eyes are being opened to the greater picture of God’s kingdom and the blessings he has planned for me everyday. I have come across some things that at one time were a pretty little apple  and now I ask myself what was I thinking? It is no longer pretty to me.

the-glory-of-god-in-christ-jesus-271x300

As I worked on the last week of the study, No Other gods, a song by the group Kansas came to mind. The song is called The Wall.  For those of you who don’t know, Kansas was known for their Christian music/lyrics before they crossed over into the pop/rock scene. Today, I read some of the lyrics. These words struck a chord for me ( no pun intended); “blocking out the light and blinding me from what I ought to see.”  “Its a travesty.”

Butterfly God's Blessings

Things. Pretty little apples.Collections. Clutter. Eating in excess. All of these things are blocking what we need to see and that is the light of Jesus Christ. When we are caught up in our pretty little apples and busy collecting more, we miss the blessings God has planned for us. We miss the opportunity to invest ourselves in someone else. In those missed opportunities we potentially miss the opportunity of inviting someone to join us in God’s kingdom. We deny God of our blessing him.

I love the words of Psalm 17:8-15:

Keep me as the apple of your eye;

hide me in the shadow of your wings

from the wicked who assail me,

from my mortal enemies who surround me. 

They close up their callous hearts,

and their mouths speak with arrogance.

They have tracked me down, they now surround me,

with eyes alert, to throw me to the ground.

They are like the lion, hungry for prey,

like a great lion crouching in cover.

Rise up, O LORD, confront them, bring them down; 

rescue me from the wicked by your sword.

O LORD, by your hand save me from such men, 

from men of this world whose reward is in this life. 

You still the hunger of those you cherish;

their sons have plenty,

and they store up wealth for their children.

And I-in righteousness I will see your face.;

when I awake, I will be satisfied with seeing your likeness..

The next time you are tempted by  pretty little apples and think life will not go on if you don’t obtain it, remember that the only apple God is interested in is you. He is interested in your heart, and he is interested in where you are investing your heart. May we be more concerned with upholding our value of being the apple of God’s eye instead of seeking our value in the pretty little apples that the world tells us that we need to have.

apple of God's eye part two

Take time to listen to the video below. Listen and read the words carefully. What pretty little apples do you need to be rid of?  Ask yourself; what is more important obtaining things or spending time with God and investing in other people? Then, say a prayer or write a prayer to God asking him to help you to get rid of the pretty little apples and to open your eyes to the blessings he has planned for you. Then, go and seek where you can invest in his kingdom.

heaven

“The treasures I seek are on the other side.” There is NO loss.” (Kansas) In other words;

Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.                                                                          Matthew 6:19-21

watch the video…..

