Our Journey

Different Directions

Jim and I have lived in the same town for twenty-three years. We have lived in the home we are in now for about eighteen years. Yet, when we leave the house to go to church, the grocery, out to eat, or whatever errand we must run, it seems we always have the same conversation when we start.

April: You know we are going to the grocery don’t you?

Jim: Yes, I know we are going to the grocery.

April: Then, why are you going this way. I always go down such and such 

street to get there. 

Jim:  Well, I like going this way to get there because there are less traffic lights.

April: Well, I like the other way because it has traffic lights and it is easier to get out in traffic.

Even though we have this conversation time after time, we still get to our destination. Jim has one way he likes to go and I have another way I like to go. Our Christian journey is pretty much like Jim and me taking different streets to get to the same destination.

Settle Memorial

One example of taking different directions are the choices we make in where we worship. Our son, Drew was raised Methodist. Yet, when he went out on his own, he chose another route to grow in his Christian walk. His dad and I encouraged him to find a church home and when doing so to make sure it stood on firm biblical principles. We also encouraged him to make sure that it was not only a place where he could/would grow in his own spiritual walk but a place where he could encourage others and invite others to join him on the journey.

575265_414166521937778_349364692_n

Not only are there different places and styles of worship for us to choose from on our journey. We all have different backgrounds, stories and experiences. It because of these experiences that we may see things a little differently from someone else who is  heading towards the same destination but on a different route. No one is better than the other. It is all a part of the Master’s plan in molding us and preparing us for that final destination. We are all different so that we can learn from one another, teach one another and see how the grace of God is at  work in many ways and  in many lives.

traffic light

On our journey, we have choices to make. Some of us take the streets where there are traffic lights that make us stop and look before merging into traffic. In other words, we stop and look to see where we need to go, who we need to help and see where we fit into the big picture. Then, there are others of us who simply like going on the streets where you don’t need to a light to merge into traffic. It is more comfortable for us to put the metal to the pedal and jump right in and go!

Young woman reading bible

As I sit with my bible in my lap, I turn the pages. In these pages I see the maps of the journeys that different ones took to share the gospel of Jesus Christ. No one journey was alike just like none of our journeys are just alike. Yet, we have the same message to share to those we encounter on our journey. The message is that God sent his Son so that all can experience and receive his marvelous grace. We must continue to share the message of how Christ died for ALL not just for some.

the journey

As we travel this road we call life, may we be ready to stop at the traffic lights and listen to the Father to lead us into serving God’s children. And, may we to be ready for those times when He doesn’t give us a light but He just says; “go!” and trust Him. Last but not least, let’s make sure we invite others to join us on the journey.

Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus

had told them to go. When they saw him, the worshiped him; but some doubted.

Then Jesus came to them and said. ‘All authority in heaven and on earth has been

given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of ALL nations, baptizing them in the

the name of the Father and of the Son and Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey

everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the

very end of the age.’  

Matthew 28:16-20

May we feel his Holy Presence as we continue our journey.

do not go where

Blessings

 

4 thoughts on “Our Journey

  1. What an awesome post April ~ I feel I was drawn to find your page today. I have been a Christian now for 55 years and I’m always trying to spread the message of God’s love. You’re doing a wonderful job and you certainly have my support ❤

    1. Thank you for visiting my porch! Check out my Thoughts From The Porch Facebook page where I share other writer’s thoughts of encouragement and God’s love. Feel free to leave a quote, favorite bible verse and/or inspiration while you are there.

      Have a blessed evening and may you feel the warmth of his love as you continue on your journey.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

