"One thing I ask from the LORD, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD  all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple." Psalm 27:4

“One thing I ask from the LORD, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple.” Psalm 27:4

“Surely the presence of the Lord is in this place.I can feel his mighty power and his grace.  I can hear the brush of angels wings. I see glory on each face. Surely the presence of the Lord is in this place.” Over the years this has become one of my most favorite choruses. I have sung it with choirs to set the mood for worship, I have hummed it to myself as I have  looked out over the mountains and across the oceans. It was also the chorus that was sung before I met Jim at the altar to become his wife. Anytime I hear this song I get what I call holy goose bumps.”

Sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean taken while on a cruise Spring, 2012.

Sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean taken while on a cruise Spring, 2012.

The view from Water Rock Knob on the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Great Smoky Mountains.

The view from Water Rock Knob on the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Great Smoky Mountains.

Not only have I experienced God’s presence in his great works of art but I have experienced his presence in many other places and in many other ways. There was a time when I was walking down Michigan Avenue in Chicago when a stranger said the very thing I needed to hear at that moment. There was the time when I was on the El in Chicago and behind me I heard the distinct sound of pages turning that could be none other than pages being read and turned from the Bible. There are days of endless errands, a busy mind and yet I still experience God’s presence.

Chicago

Chicago, Illinois

God’s presence is with us every single day. In order to experience his wonderful presence we must seek it with our hearts. In other words, intentionally be aware of his presence. It is when we are intentional about being in the presence of  God every day and waking hour, we will experience him working in our lives that is beyond explanation and comprehension.

David, the psalmist thirst to be in God’s presence. David uses the word temple to describe  being in God’s presence. Like David we should thirst to be in the presence of God. We must seek God in ALL of our coming and going. It is when we do this we experience God’s wonderful presence. 

 I love what Psalm 42:1 says:

As the deer pants for streams of water, 

so my soul pants for you, my God.

photo taken Summer, 2012 @ Lake Nolin, KY.

photo taken Summer, 2012 @ Lake Nolin, KY.

Surely the presence of the Lord is in this place. I can hear the brush of angels wings. I see glory on each face.”  There is nothing better than living in God’s temple and experiencing his mighty presence in ALL things!  Holy goosebumps!

Watch/listen to the video and just sit quietly in God’s presence. As you do this, reflect on where you have experienced God’s presence in your daily journey. 

[tweetmeme]

