bowing before God

” I saw that from what appeared to be his waist up he looked like fire; brilliant light surrounding him. Like the appearance of a rainbow in the clouds on a rainy day, so was the radiance around him. This was the appearance of the likeness of glory of the LORD. When I saw it, I feel facedown, and I heard the voice of one speaking.” Ezekiel 1:27-28

the-glory-of-god-in-christ-jesus-271x300

This description of what Ezekiel is experiencing in the presence of the LORD just gives me chills.  I can only imagine what Ezekiel was thinking and feeling at this moment of time.  The study notes in my Life Application Bible say this; The glory of the LORD appeared like fire and brilliant light to Ezekiel. Ezekiel fell facedown, overwhelmed by the contrast between God’s holiness and his own sinfulness insignificance.”

it's in the waiting

In one of the Beth Moore studies that I participated in with my small group, Beth shares the importance of bowing down in the presence of God and being present before God.  Throughout the study we were encouraged to literally get on our knees, bow before God and present ourselves, our hearts and  prayers to Him. Wow! What an experience of God’s presence I experienced when I actually got down on my knees and bowed before God.

I admit most days my prayer life are prayers said from the chair as I read a daily devotional, prayers said as I lay down at night and those that are breath prayers that I say as I go through my day. It is in those prayers that I am reminded that God is walking with me in my day-to-day life. Through these prayers I have invited God to be a part of all that is going on in my life. Yet, the times where I have truly experienced the awesome presence of my Father is when I actually get down on my knees and bow before Him.

the-power-of-prayer

In the moments of bowing before God, I am totally relinquishing all control I want to have over my life to God whom is in control. As I bow on my knees, I am showing God that I respect Him and His will for my life. It is in the getting on my knees and bowing that I feel a Holy presence like no other. There have been times when I have been on my knees before God where I felt a presence standing behind me, surrounding me  and a hand touching my shoulder.

There is no question in my mind of the presence behind me and the one touching me because I know it is God’s Son/My Savior who is also in the presence of the Father. The presence that is surrounding me is the presence of the Holy Spirit.  It is in these moments when I empty myself before God and allow Him to fill me up.  There is a peace that passes all understanding that comes over me as He listens to me empty myself and as I allow Him to fill me up.

fill me up

We live in a fast paced world. Many people are burden with many things these days. Some are burden with terminal illness. Others are burdened with finances or some other family crisis. The list of things people face today is long. Yet, in the midst of the illnesses and the crisis, we must remember to go to God and carry it all to Him in prayer.

seek God

What is heavy on your heart today?  I encourage you to get down on your knees and bow before God. Relinquish the control you want to have over the situation and allow God to lead.  As you are on your knees, feel His might presence, feel His Son touch your shoulder with assurance and feel the Holy Spirit wrap around you. Trust me, it is in the bowing before God is when you will feel a peace that passes ALL understanding.

I encourage you to watch this clip from the television show, Touched By An Angel.

Blessings

[tweetmeme]

