trying on shoes

When I was a little girl the biggest frustration my mom had been finding shoes that would properly fit my feet. I have a small foot and a very short heel thus making it hard to find shoes that would not slide on my foot as I walked.  My small foot and finding a shoe that fit when I was a teenager was even harder. We wanted to find a shoe that looked more age appropriate for me but the only thing that would really fit my foot was a shoe from the little girl’s department.

little girl trying on shoes

Over the years, I have learned more about how to shop for a shoe that would fit properly fit my foot. I will admit that there are some shoes that I get from the little boys’ department as well as the little girls’ department. As a matter of fact, I found the cutest pair of athletic shoes in the girl’s department this past weekend. And, just like any normal female I could not resist to do nothing but try them on and purchase them. These shoes are a perfect fit.

Trying on shoes and finding shoes to fit made me think about how we search to find out where we fit in throughout our life. We all have different factors we have to think about when we are looking for our “perfect” fit in society.  Sometimes, our finding this purpose/calling in life takes us trying different jobs, volunteering in different areas of life, and doing a lot of soul-searching.

place in this world

Our finding our purpose and place in this big world is often dictated by our educational/training backgrounds, geographic location and sometimes physical limitations.  For me, it is the latter when it comes to finding that perfect fit and/or place in this world. Yes, there are physical limitations that I have had to come to terms with of what I can and can’t do.

Over the last month, there have been some things to come into my path that I became really interested in pursuing. Fortunately, these things are things where there was and is no rush so that I could and can pray and search about what I can and should do. The thought process has been like trying on a shoe. Do I really like the shoe? In other words, do I really have a passion for this proposed path? Does the shoe slide on my heel? In other words, would I be able to handle the added responsibilities both physically and in ability?

talking to God

In recent days, as I have gone through this  self-evaluation,  seeking wisdom from my Father and talking with my husband, I realize that pursuing these journeys are not where I need to go. As I realized and acknowledged my physical/medical limitations, I at first became frustrated. My first question to God is; ‘why?’ .  I tell God that I don’t feel like I am doing anything productive.

As this thought process and questioning God, played and re-played  through my head, God spoke to me. He opened my eyes to what I am doing and what I CAN do.  Even though, it is not possible or meant for me to pursue these paths in front of me I can pray for the ones who will answer the call to these paths.

have a good week

God also reminded me that my place in this world is what I am already doing and it is something that I am very passionate about doing. I love to send cards of encouragement to people who are going through storms in life, who are not well and cards to people who need just a little wind to pursue what they are doing, to send congratulations when the occasion calls for it. I also love to send cards just to say;’ hello and I’m thinking about you.’

We live in such a fast paced world and with all the social media a hand-written note or a card signed and sent through the mail is becoming a lost art. Think about the last time you got a card in the mail and how good it made you feel. There is nothing like sending a personal touch of love, encouragement, blessings and prayers through the good old snail mail.

children praying

Along with God reminding me that I can pray for others and sending cards,  He reminded me of how I present myself as an empty vessel to be filled with His words to share with people in this world through my blog writing.  Many times I have gone out searching for that perfect shoe and the perfect  fit to go with an outfit but I run into dead ends. Yet, as I return home,  I look in my closet and find that I had the perfect shoe with the perfect fit all along.  In other words, God has directed me to my place in this world.  I just failed to stop and realize what I was/am already doing to make my mark on the world.

582716_487709884573920_320012338_n

God calls all of us to do different things to make this a better place. Some are called to do big things and are able to carry big loads. Then, there are those of us  who may have limitations that  called to do simple things that can make a big difference.  The important thing is that we do all that we are called to do with joy in our hearts and allowing God to work through us in all that we do.

closet of Shoes

Are you trying to find a good shoe that fits and having no luck? Maybe, it is time to go home and look in your closet and see if you already have that shoe you are looking for. In other words, go to your Father and talk with Him. It is in talking to Him you may find you have already found your place in this world.  Or,  He may show you a better shoe that is a better fit.  Listen to His small still voice and be ready for what He shows you and directs your steps.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him and he will make your paths straight. ” Proverbs 3:5

Blessings

[tweetmeme]

