Bowdon Class of 1982These people were not just classmates there were and are family.

Bowdon Class of 1982
These people were not just classmates there were and are family.

In the Fall of 2012, I attended a thirty year class reunion.  While visiting and becoming re-acquainted with friends, one of my friends reminded me of my “love” for math and doing math homework in  study hall. I honestly do not remember study hall but I do remember my “passion” for math.

In our conversation, this friend told Jim how I would sit in study hall and work through an algebra  problem then turn to the back of the book where the answers were and then in frustration I would shake my head, erase my answer and start again. Yes, I remember the frustration of looking at a math problem and not understanding what was before me or how to solve it.

Dear Math

Family members terminally ill, losing a job when things seem to be going so well, a spouse walking out without any warning or real reason,  shootings in theaters, schools and other such mind-blowing things seem to be happening more and more. Each time someone receives bad news, or we hear of innocent lives taken too soon, we all shake our heads in frustration and look for an answer.

why questions

We find ourselves searching for answers. Our heart aches to find that one answer that will bring reasoning as to what has happened. But, there are no tangible answers to be found. It is in those moments when we wish life was like that algebra book with the answers in the back to the problems.

images (4)


As Christians we are given answers of how to face and handle our questions in life. We have a loving Father who reminds us through scripture that He is there to comfort us, to defend us and to bring us through fiery trials. He gave us His Son to listen to us when we cry out in frustration in search of the answer to why. Our Father’s answers are in a book. This book we know as The Bible.

God is bigger

Here are a couple of scriptures that may bring comfort to you the next time you are in search of the answer to why or needing strength to walk through the trials that life brings.

“He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary. and young men stumble and fall.; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”( Isaiah 40: 29-31)

“I lift my eyes to the mountains where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD, the maker of heaven and earth.”( Psalm 121: 1-2)

In closing, I ask how many times have we said, “when we get to heaven, we have a lot of questions for  God.”  I have a feeling when we get there all will fall into place and there will be no need for questions. We will have all the answers we need.

For those who are in search of  the ultimate answer, it  IS in the back of The Book; “Yes, I am coming soon.” (Revelation 22:20) Yes, our Savior is coming soon and all of our questions will be no more.

Blessings-

