“God, I ask that you place your angels of protection around Drew and Megan throughout the night tonight and throughout the day tomorrow. Walk with them and keep your angels of protection around them in their cars, parking lots, parking garages, the streets, street corners, the subway and subway stations, their buildings where they work, and  parking lots and garages. No matter where they go please surround them and feather them with your mighty protection from ALL harm and evil and ALL harm and evil people.”

This is part of my nightly bedtime prayer. As you know, I am a BIG believer in prayer. All through my growing up and now in my adult life, I have experienced prayers answered. Yes, there have been times when I have wondered if God was really on the job. Yet, events happen or someone shares an experience with me and I immediately see God’s divine intervention.

My son, Drew

There are personal stories/testimonies I could share with you. Yet, there is an event that took place  in Chicago with my son, Drew in March of 2011. It is an event that Drew shared with me on the day of his 24th birthday as we celebrated in a restaurant in Chicago. It is a story that as he began to tell me, I thought he and his dad were in collaboration in pulling the wool over my eyes. But, as his story unfolded and what he showed me at the end of sharing of this event gave me chills. It is a story where I saw God and his angels had been on the job.

The next post will be by my son, Drew. He will be guest writing on Thoughts From The Porch. He will be sharing the event that took place. It is an event that opened our family’s eyes of God at work and that he has a plan and purpose for us all.

As you read his post, keep this Psalm in the back of your mind and imprinted on your heart.

Psalm 91

New International Version (NIV)

Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High
will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.[a]
I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.”

Surely he will save you
from the fowler’s snare
and from the deadly pestilence.
He will cover you with his feathers,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.
You will not fear the terror of night,
nor the arrow that flies by day,
nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness,
nor the plague that destroys at midday.
A thousand may fall at your side,
ten thousand at your right hand,
but it will not come near you.
You will only observe with your eyes
and see the punishment of the wicked.

If you say, “The Lord is my refuge,”
and you make the Most High your dwelling,
10 no harm will overtake you,
no disaster will come near your tent.
11 For he will command his angels concerning you
to guard you in all your ways;
12 they will lift you up in their hands,
so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.
13 You will tread on the lion and the cobra;
you will trample the great lion and the serpent.

14 “Because he[b] loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him;
I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.
15 He will call on me, and I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble,
I will deliver him and honor him.
16 With long life I will satisfy him
and show him my salvation.”

Stay tuned…..more thoughts on prayer are to come.

[tweetmeme]

