High Fences and Opened Gates

A kangaroo kept getting out of his enclosure at the zoo. Knowing that he could hop high, the zoo officials put up a ten-foot fence. He was out the next morning, just roaming around the zoo. A twenty-foot fence was put up. Again he got out.

When the fence was forty feet high, a camel in the next enclosure asked the kangaroo, “How high do you think they’ll go?”

The kangaroo said, “About a thousand feet, unless somebody locks the gate at night!”

I came across this story a couple of days ago on Facebook. As I read the kangaroo’s response about getting out, I could not help but laugh out loud.  Then, I thought about how this story can be applied to each one of us in life.
Ever heard the phrase; “if it were a snake it would have bitten me”? This phrase is typically used when someone is looking for something or some answer and it is staring them right in the face.  Again, just like the zoo keeper the gate is opened but we just don’t see it!  Instead, we just build a higher fence. In other words, we make things harder than they actually are. Ugh! Can you imagine what God looks like looking down at us when we do this? He probably puts his head in his hands, chuckles, and says; “I can’t believe I am giving them the answer plain as day and they are still missing the opened gate door!” 
In my house, I am known as ‘Google Peanut” (Peanut being my nickname since childhood) or ‘Google Squirrel’ (nickname Squirrel given to me for some odd reason). The Google part comes from the fact that when something is ‘missing’/’misplaced’  in our home, I am the one who usually finds the ‘missing’/’misplaced item.’ I can’t tell you how many times I am snug in the covers almost asleep when Jim will walk in the room and say; ‘where’s my…or have you seen…..’  It can come to be a number of things that become missing in action around here. Most of the time it is the wallet,  car keys, bible or some sort of item that was NOT put back in the right place.  This not only happens when I am snug in the bed ready to catch my z’s but it also happens in the early morning hours which to me is the middle of night. ( I am NOT a morning person!-There, I said it!)
In most cases, I get up and go put my hands right on the missing item. My response is usually; “here, if it were a snake it would have bitten you…OPEN your eyes!” Of course this is said out of frustration because I was ready to close my eyes or not ready to open them just yet.  I love a sign that my son, Drew put on my Wall. It says; It’s not really lost until Mom can’t find it.” Yep! So true for this Hawkins’ home!
Then there are those times when I can’t put my hands right on the lost item. Yet, I do eventually find it! How? First, I pray asking God to help me think where it could be or where it is. Yes, pray. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 tells us to; “Be joyful, pray continually; give thanks in ALL circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Jesus Christ.”  Okay, I admit I am not very joyful when I am asking for guidance when being awakened to find something. The next thing I do is ask the person (the hubby) where was he last with this item, what did he do and where has he been. After this process, I put my hands on the lost item.
There are times in life when we are trying to accomplish something. Instead of praying and asking God for guidance on how to accomplish this task, we take matters in our own hands. Ah, we have the answers. We don’t need help from anyone much less God. Yet, it seems we get no where. Instead of accomplishing our goal, we just build our fence taller all the while the fence has a gate  standing wide open for us to walk through. We miss the obvious. Then, as time goes on hindsite 20/20 comes into more focus and then we really feel intelligent. NOT!
How do we  miss the obvious and see the gate door that is left opened for us? It is called having a relationship with our Lord and Savior. In this relationship, we must stay connected every second, every minute of every day. It means doing exactly what 1
Thessalonians 5:16-18 tells us to do. Pray continually and about ALL things. We have to stay in tuned to the voice of God.
There have been times when we have built fences so high that there was no way we were going to accomplish what we needed to accomplish. We end up wondering how much farther we have to jump before the goal is accomplished. It is in those moments when we have to stop,pray and ask God to help us see the obvious,  evaluate where we have been, what we have done. Just like re-tracing steps in locating a missing item, God will show you where he has left the door opened for you to walk through. It is then when we can take that step and walk through the door and walk the path he has planned for us.
Frustrated? Trying to accomplish something and getting no where? Stop! Ask God to help you locate that opened door. As you do this, do it with prayer. Once you see that opened door, keep living every second, every minute, and every day in prayer.  Walk in relationship with Jesus Christ and you will see many doors he has opened and ready for you to walk through.
” But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you-” Matthew 6:33
“Ask and it will be given to you, seek and you will find, knock and the door will be opened to you.”
Matthew 7:7-8
Blessings-
[tweetmeme]
One thought on “High Fences and Opened Gates

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

