Standing At The Cross Roads

“Even though I walk through the valley of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4

Take a left up here where the cross roads meet.” Okay, take another left up at the next cross roads.”  These were the directions I was giving my husband, Jim as I was giving him the nickel tour of one of the communities I grew up in during my father’s ministry. The previous evening I had attended a class reunion with classmates that I had not seen in thirty-four years.

I spent a lot of Sunday afternoons here eating Sunday lunch and then playing in the woods. We would swing across the creek on vines, pick and eat muscadines…wonderful memories!

After the nickel tour of the community and showing Jim the places I hung out and the homes I shared many memories, we went to the cemetery of the church where my dad was assigned. There I stood and read names of headstones and shared stories of how they touched my life and the memories made with their families and in their homes. As I shared these memories, God was gently reminding me of his presence in every step and moment of my life.

Shiloh United Methodist Cemetery

Jim and I made our way on over to the church grounds where we met up with my son, Drew and his wife Megan. From there, we entered the sanctuary where I had not sat in since attending a funeral of a dear sweet friend twenty plus years ago. I had my family to sit in the pew where my family sat as Dad preached his last sermon as pastor. Yet, as I told them to sit, I told myself that this time I would not be teary eyed as I was on that last day where my family told the congregation good-bye.

Shiloh United Methodist Church
Burwell, Georgia

Yet, as the service began, I looked around the congregation remembering where certain families sat each Sunday. It was then when I realized the reality of time and life. Life has moved on. Life has changed. Some of those families have moved on to other beginnings themselves while others have gone to be in their eternal home. A wave of sadness and yet joy filled my heart once again. Sadness because these people were gone but joy because of how they touched my life as a young lady.

Some people would call it ironic but as a Christian I know it was all a God thing and His timing. In Mark 10:17-30, we read about the rich young ruler  wanting to know more about the kingdom and how he could inherit eternal life.  This was a crossroad for the rich young ruler. He was at that  place in the road where he needed to decide the path of which to take. The rich you ruler sought guidance from Jesus.  Needless to say, crossroads are opportunities to make transitions and start new beginnings in our life.  We must do as the young ruler did seek direction from God.

As I sat in this particular church on this particular Sunday, I realized that God had placed me at the very place where I experienced pivotal crossroads in my life. I went from being a little girl to a young lady while at this church, began playing in band, experienced my first year of high school, had my first boyfriend and date. But the most important crossroad I experienced at this particular appointment is the moment I accepted Christ into my heart. It was on a camp meeting Sunday when I gave my life to Christ and asked Him to walk with me the rest of my days.

I’m standing at the very spot that I gave my life to Christ.

Yes, this past weekend I stood at the crossroads with God reminding me of how He has walked with me through many other crossroads in my lifetime. He showed me how these significant crossroads have impacted my life and made me who I am today. God reminded me at these cross roads that there are still many before me and He is still walking with me telling me which way to turn.

There are days when we don’t know how we are going to get through. There are crossroads where we are not sure if we should go straight or turn left or right. When these moments take place, go back to that significant crossroad  where you invited Christ on your journey. You may not be able to go back in the physical sense as I did but go back in your mind/memory. Then, look at where you were and then see how far He has brought you. Then, gently take your Father’s hand and allow Him to lead you on through the crossroad before you.

3 thoughts on “Standing At The Cross Roads

  1. Great testimony.
    I often go back in my mind to the time when my life changed completely as I became a blood-bought, adopted child of the living God. Such a change! My loving Father has now undertaken for me for over 54 years and my heart is bursting with praise for all His abundant blessings.

    What an amazing God!

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

