What’s Your Message?

English: Watching me watching you

“Shepherds of the flock of God which is among you, serving as overseers, not by compulsion by willingly, not for dishonest gain but eagerly; nor as being lords over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock; and when the Chef Shepherd appears, you will receive the crown of glory that does not fade.”  1 Peter 5:2-4

Back in the 1980′s, there was a song with the lyrics; “I always feel like somebody’s watching me.” No matter where this person in the song was, he felt as though someone was watching.  Yes, it was a fun and catchy song for the time but it had some truth in it as well.

How many of us like to people watch? I know my husband and I enjoy people watching especially when we are out-of-town. We watch and wonder where people are from and where they are going. We enjoy watching children at play and interacting with their families on vacation.

Though we enjoy people watching, do we realize that there are people watching us as Christians? In our every day walks of life, people are watching our actions and re-actions.  When they are watching us do they see the message we proclaim in action? Do they see us putting grace into action when we get into a pickle or someone upsets us?  Convicting isn’t it?

Today, I had a conviction of heart on how I stand on a certain issue. I had posted my stance on my timeline. As I did this, I sent a  text to my son, Drew regarding what I had done. Of course with him be the social media guru that he is, I knew he would probably send me his opinion/response as soon as he could. And, he did. I liked what he sent to me;I find it odd to make a public declaration when it’s just as easy to live it without words.”  In my postsWise Guy, I share how Drew can zing his dad and me from time to time. And, this text is an example of him zinging me. Those words he sent zinged my heart and really got me to thinking even more and deeper.

After receiving this text and texting him back on how right on he was, I took the stance on this particular issue off my timeline. I realized I not only can  say my stance through my actions, what I post, share on Facebook, through emails but it is  simply how I live each day. This statement made me realize that people are watching me as much as I am watching them.

Have you heard the saying; “If you don’t stand for something, you will fall for anything?” It is so true.  Sometimes, we need to put what we believe in writing but it is not our writing, what we share on Facebook and through emails that are going to say to people where we stand on certain issues.  It is how we live and what we do in our every day actions. As Christians, we are a living testimony of what it means to be living in the Kingdom. Sometimes, we are the only bible a person may read.  In this walking and living testimony, we do need to take a stand for God and the rules/values that he expects us to live by. If we don’t take a stand for God and his values, we will begin to fall and believe that certain ways of the world are okay. And, people are watching for us even closer in these certain situations. There are those who would love nothing better than to see us fall.

Are we going to fall? Yes, we will fall at times. It is all a part of being human. Yet, as Christians, we know we can ask for grace/forgiveness, get up and dust ourselves off and move on towards  perfection.  We are not a perfect people but we are a forgiven people working and walking towards perfection each day to glorify God and his Kingdom.

So, do you feel like somebody is watching you?  My guess is that somebody is watching you.  Now, that you know they are watching, are you walking the talk, walking the stance you take on certain issues and are you showing how a Christian acts and re-acts in certain situations?  I know that these are convicting questions.  Before writing this post, I went through these very  questions of conviction in my heart and my life. And, boy! I have stumbled a few times! Yet, I know that I can ask for God’s grace and start anew at this very moment.

Maybe you have been walking differently from the way you have been talking. If so, stop and talk to God. Ask God for his forgiveness and grace.  After all, part of being a living testimony is people seeing us on our knees asking for God’s mercy and grace. Then, as they watch on, they see us rise up ready to move on walking in the light and grace of God.

Remember; “there IS always somebody watching you.” What’s your message?

 

Blessings

About April

Writing encouraging words for a busy world.

Posted on August 7, 2012, in Thoughts from the Porch and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Living out our faith and the Love and precepts of Jesus Christ Our Lord is SO much what we need to do, as we stay away from verbalizations and arguments and debates, especially during this current vitriolic election cycle of 2012!

  2. Hi April,good word! I sure am thankful for God’s grace and mercy also,for at times my walk is a little shaky.
    Love you :D

  3. this is an excellent blog. everyone needs to read it! thank u so much for sharing this with me

