When Jim and I first heard this song, we laughed at the fact that the singer of this song shares how we all ‘want to go heaven but just not right now.’ Thus, he suggests that we put an extra twenty in the offering plate to buy us one more day and to cover what we have done.  Not only does he offer to put an extra twenty in the plate but he admits he is not ready to give up the life he is living. However in all reality, as Christians we know that the extra twenty isn’t going to buy us one more day and that going to heaven means putting the world behind us and living a life of Christ.

Since May of 2011, I have walked through several  sudden losses of people that totally kicked me in the stomach when they happened. From getting caught in rip tide, car accidents, and those who fell ill suddenly,  the times of many friends and family all came sooner than anyone imagined.  It has been through these tragedies that I have learned all the more how precious life is and how I need to be thankful for every day I wake up.  These incidents have also increased my awareness of my personal relationship with Christ and how I need to include Him in ALL that I do. Along with being thankful for waking up another day, working on my relationship with Christ, I am also reminded to cherish all the moments I can with family and friends. In other words, life is short and it is shorter than any of us realize!

Yes, “everybody wants to go to heaven but no one wants to go now.  just not right now.”  Yet, we need to be ready to go to heaven every day. The decision of when we go is NOT up to us. But the decision of getting there IS up to us.  The key to going to heaven is asking Christ to be our Lord and Savior. Once we have asked Him to be in our lives and heart, we must invite Him to walk with us every day and be in every thing we do. When we mess up, we need to go to Him for forgiveness.  Jesus tells us how we can get to heaven when he answers Thomas’ question about knowing the way. We find this response in John 14: 6.  Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth  and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

One thing I am certain about in regards to those who were taken from this earth all to soon is that they were ready for heaven. They walked with their Savior each and every day. You knew this by their smiles, their spirit and the lives they lived. As a matter of fact, one of these dear precious people had shared in my small group not long before she went home that when it was time she was ready to go to heaven. She anxiously awaited to meeting her Savior face to face.

“Everybody wants to go to heaven but no one wants to go now. “ But, are we ready to go to heaven when that time comes? Along with putting that’ extra twenty in the offering plate’, how about asking Christ to be in your heart and involved in your life. Thus, when your time comes, there is not a doubt in your mind you will meet Him face to face one day. Also, it will be without a doubt in those you leave behind your final destiny.

My challenge for you today is to thank God for giving you one more day.Then, cherish every minute of the day that has been given to you. Last but not least, to be in tuned into God at work in ALL that you do.

Most of all, remember these words: “the world behind me, the cross before me. I have decided to follow Jesus.” I am looking forward to meeting you one day at that final destination….HEAVEN!

Blessings

[tweetmeme]

One By One…Making A Difference  Thoughts From The Porch

Learning To Dance In The Rain         Thoughts From The Porch

I want to say thank you for the encouraging thoughts that you, the reader leave. As I am able, I love to respond. Please know, that I am taking a few days off for a little rest and relaxation with family and will respond to messages left as soon as I am back on my site.  It is my prayer that my readers take some time out to enjoy those who are dear to them. Blessings, April


