Hooked On Pinterest

Red Pinterest logo
Red Pinterest logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Pinterest is the latest addiction in the social media world. Since my son, Drew works in marketing in the social media world, I knew it would not be long before I would be on Pinterest.  My boards include What I Like, Places I Like, Recipes, Dreams to things that will be only dreams. 

Pinterest is a place for friends, family and strangers to share what they like, their values and sometimes their hopes and dreams. As I started pinning, I have seen things from inspiration to things that need to be reported. My eyes have been opened to what people value and how we may tend to look to the material world for happiness. It has opened my own eyes and heart to evaluate what is important in my personal life.

Now, I am not knocking down Pinterest. I see value in the boards when it comes to gathering ideas for gift giving, for finding tips in making life more organized, sharing the gospel among other helpful information. My concern is of where we are, as a society, placing our hopes. Are we pinning things that we hope will make us happy? Or, do we place our hope in our Creator?

Yes, I enjoy sharing and pinning on Pinterest. But, as I pin, I know that all the pins of things that amaze me, items I like, or recipes to try, that my main pin must be on God. In other words, I must pin my hopes on God. God has a purpose for me just as he has a purpose for you.

What are you pinning? Are you looking for these pins to bring you joy and hope? If you haven’t already, pin your hopes on God and then experience how he will open your eyes and heart to see what is truly important in life. After all, there is no doubt in my mind that if God had a Pinterest account, he would definitely have you and me pinned on his board.

I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord;
apart from you I have no good thing.”
I say of the holy people who are in the land,
“They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.”
Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more.
I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods
or take up their names on my lips.

Psalm 16:2-4

10 thoughts on “Hooked On Pinterest

  1. Amen. I think there is nothing wrong with these social medias when you use them to reach out to others spreading God’s word. Recently I created a blog tying all my gifts from God but allowing others to see that God is with me in everything I do. Sharing His presence in my life with others on a more personal note. Some people tend to think I am just sharing God’s word all day. That is correct! Please stop by and fellowship. http://ilovemycreator.wordpress.com/

    1. We are commissioned to “Go make disciples”….I don’t think that meant we pick and chose when we witness. I agree with you it is an all day every day responsibility we have in ALL we do! Have a wonderful week!

      1. I know what you mean about adding on another social media venue! I have had a hard time just keeping up with email, blogging traffic and such in the last few weeks. Life has been pretty busy at our home. My hubby had surgery two weeks ago and is on sick leave which alters the routine a bit, and since his surgery, murphy’s law!! It seems everything is happening at once but Jim and I smile, laugh and say “okay, God, its in your hands.” We know getting frustrated or worried does none of good. Right now, God is testing our faith, trust and patience with Him…hopefully, He is succeeding with us!
        I always enjoy hearing your thoughts on the words that God places on my heart.
        Have a wonderful week!
        Blessings
        April

  2. Good message and an appropriate challenge to all! Upon recommendation of a friend, I opened a Pinterest account/membership several months ago, but haven’t used it – I don’t know where I’d find time for one more social media venue!

  3. April, you are just plain dangerous! I’d never heard of this site… being the recluse that I am. I just avoided what could have become an addiction to Angry Birds. “Lead me not into temptation!”

    Your message is right on. In today’s hi-tech, air wave world it’s far too easy to get seduced into the interesting instead of the meaningful, the fun instead of the joy.

    Shalom, Art

    1. Trust me…Pinterest can be addictive!! Angry Birds….have not gone there but have friends and family who do play!
      Thanks for your thoughts! As always, I enjoy hearing from you.
      Have a wonderful week.
      Blessings
      April

  4. Glad you touched on this. You make an excellent point- our main pin should be God. I started pinning recently and He started showing me that I was almost coveting or, dare I say, lusting. I was spending time looking at things pleasing to the flesh (clothes, shoes, hair styles, etc) that I liked and that I wanted. Was I growing discontentment with what I already have? What value am I placing on these material things? Like you said, what am I really pinning on them? The pins themselves aren’t bad but what do they revel about my heart? Should I be spending so much time pinning in order to build my own fashion sense and wardrobe? How does that even measure up in light of eternity? It doesn’t. I’m not knocking pinning either but we need to be cautious because the devil will and does use absolutely anything and everything to distraction us from our first Love, no matter how subtle! This is simply my own experience and I figure that if it doesn’t ultimately bring glory to God then we should count it as absolutely worthless and pluck it from our lives. Thanks for sharing!!! I adore reading your posts. God bless you!! 🙂

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

