I Asked For A Pig but Got A Dog

“In His time, He makes ALL things beautiful.”

To everything there is a season, A time for every purpose under heaven.”  Ecclesiastes 3:1

2004-2006 Solara in Black Onyx
Toyota Solara

In a couple of months, the hubby will be turning 50. Yes, that magical number of what we call mid-life crisis. I, on the other hand, have two more years before approaching such a crisis in my life. The hubby has longed for a convertible. His choice in convertibles has always centered on a Miata.  I, on the other hand, could not grasp the concept of driving down the interstate in a roller skate. Thus, I began my search of convertibles of heavier weight. In this search, I found our newest car ( at least to us) a Toyota Solara. It was the perfect match for us. A heavier car, a car that can be a classic because they are no longer manufactured and it was a convertible that would scratch that mid-life crisis itch.

Now, for me on the other hand, I don’t foresee any mid-life crisis cravings or behaviors taking place anytime soon. ( If you believe that, I have some land in Florida I will gladly sell ya!) For the last couple of years, I have wanted what the hubby calls a “fluff” dog. Hubby, on the other hand, did not see the need for us to acquire such a dog since we have a four-year old lab already living with us. But, I told him the dog would be cheaper than therapy! Yet, I still got no where!

One day it came to me. Yes, I had a flashback of that old favorite sitcom of the 80’s, Designing Women. You may recall this show centered around the lives of four interior designers; four Southern women who lived in the heart of Atlanta, Georgia.  Along with these four women was a man by the name of Anthony who started out the series as a stranger to them on a Thanksgiving episode.  He started out as  their stock/delivery man to one day and, over time, his character develops into being one of their partners.

Now, you ask; “what does this have to do with mid-life crisis, a convertible and the title of this post, I Asked For a pig but  Got A Dog all have in common?” Well, I will tell ya.  We are all aware of the child’s game of asking for an elephant, a horse or some sort of animal of large proportion that would be impossible for most  people to obtain much less care for and then wearing the parents down to that dog, cat or gold-fish that they really wanted. Hey, I have seen work with kids so why not me with the hubby on the subject of a dog? Right?

One evening, as I strolled through the paper and then the internet looking for pups to adopt, the hubby walks in and asks; “what’s up?” My response was; “oh nothing.” I thought I would just look for a pig that is up for adoption since I can’t get a dog. At this moment, I thought he was going to choke on the ice water he had just swallowed. “A pig?” “Why a pig?” were the questions that followed after he got over that brain freeze and got his breath back from inhaling the ice water. My reply back to him was simple:

“Well, you remember the television show, Designing Women don’t ya?” ” I suddenly remember that Suzanne Sugarbaker  had a pet pig that was given to her by her house keeper.” “Suzanne, being the gracious Southern gal she was raised to be decided that this pig would not be put in the pen and raised for further consumption.” “But, Suzanne decided that this pig would be her beloved pet.” “I remember episodes of Suzanne and the pig coming in with matching scarves and such.” Suzanne loved that pig.” And, don’t you remember the episode when Suzanne asked Anthony to take the pig to the Dairy Queen in her convertible with the top down?” The hubby acknowledges that he remembers that episode and then quotes Anthony’s response; “I will do a lot of things for you, Suzanne, but I will NOT take no p-i-g to the Dairy Queen.” I replied back with arguing how I have heard pigs do make good pets. After all, I am a Southern girl from Atlanta, Georgia and why not a pig if I can’t have a dog?

Not long after this conversation that actually took place, the hubby and I were on the internet searching for a pup who needed a home. My criteria were that it would be a rescue dog. We weren’t on the internet long when the newest member of the family, Smokey,  popped up on the screen. It was seeing his picture when Jim called the rescue home and got the adoption process going. Two days later, we were driving forty miles to pick up not a pig but a sweet bischon/frise, shih tzu mix four-month old pup. I asked for a pig and got a dog! Smokey will never grow to be the size of a pig. Nor will he ever eat the amount of food as a pig but he has been one of  the biggest blessings and joy that God has sent my way.

Smokey also known as “Smokey Bear” and “Boss”
Sporting his Harley Davidson Jean Jacket and Woodstock bandana.

The moral of this story: There are times when we ask God for a pig, an elephant, or a thoroughbred horse but he does not give what we think we want or need. But, he does listen to our prayer and at the right moment and place the biggest blessing God sends our way may come in the smallest of packages.  Have you asked God for something and He said, “no”? But, somewhere in time, he fulfilled that need/want with a blessings and you were so ever grateful later that he didn’t send or give what you thought you needed or wanted? Goes to show that God knows our every need and want. It is in HIS time where the needs and wants will be filled and only in HIS way. Thus, making life all that more beautiful and full of wonder and glory.And my God shall supply ALL your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

God’s Timing

By the way, the other night it was the perfect Spring evening to go for a ride in the convertible. So, the hubby, Smokey and myself put the top down and went for a ride. We ended up at Dairy Queen where the hubby found himself not only buying ice cream for the two of us but also ice cream for Smokey.  Unfortunately, I forgot my phone and/or camera and did not get this first trip to Dairy Queen captured. But, I have a feeling as Spring and Summer progresses there will be ample opportunity.

Blessings

[tweetmeme]

13 thoughts on “I Asked For A Pig but Got A Dog

  1. Smiling and thinking how I am going to try your tactics! It is a mini-daschund I am wanting, even have a woman at church willing to give me one of her puppies. Hubby says No. Guess I will be searching for a pig when I get home this evening.
    As for God’s timing, no doubt it is ALWAYS right! It is the waiting, that I still haven’t perfected!! 🙂

  2. April, Smokey looks every bit as adorable as my Malti-poo, DutchBoy! He always gets to ride and always gets treats! The servers try to sneak him treats, as well! So wonderful that you have this blessing in Atlanta, GA, the home of my two dear, dear grandchildren! Yes, God keeps His own clock and knows EXACTLY what we need so much better than we do! Hallelujah!

      1. Maybe one of our contemporary groups could get a hold of the words and music and do something with it.
        Thanks for visiting my site today.
        Blessings!

  3. Hey April… not neglecting DQ, but the Schwan’s delivery truck offers ice cream especially made for those four-legged family members! Possum loves them! Great story friend. Thanks and God bless.

  4. Love the story, and the message, April. Getting Smokey an ice cream reminds me of a short trip one of my previous employers and I took in his car. We also stopped at a DQ, where we bought ice cream cones, as well as a small cone for his Brittany Spaniel. But we were in a hurry, so Don gave “Fritz” the ice cream cone on the backseat…which he consumed, and smeared all over the seat! I doubt that is how you handled it in the new convertible! Hope you have a wonderful week!

    1. Glad you enjoyed the story and message. Yes, you are right, we assisted Smokey with his ice cream.
      Have a great week!

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

