Don’t Just Give Up but Get Up!

English: Ashes imposed on the forehead of a Ch...
Image via Wikipedia

It seems time continues to rapidly go by and seems to go even faster as I get older. I feel like it was just this last week, we were in worship celebrating the birth of Christ. As I sit down to write this post, January is almost over. “Where is the time going?” I say to myself.  On Wednesday of this week, along with all of you, I will be flipping my calendar over to February.

When looking ahead into the month of February, I already see the days being marked with commitments for me to attend. Among the things I have placed on my calendar include Ground Hog’s Day where we will find out if we will have an early spring or six more weeks of winter. Another date is Valentine’s Day where we send expressions of love and affection to those important in our lives. But, the most important date on the calendar is Ash Wednesday.

What is Ash Wednesday? It is the beginning of Lent on the Christian calendar. This marks the time in Jesus’ life where He was “led by the  Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. And, He also fasted for forty days and forty nights.”  Can you imagine going forty days and forty nights without food? Then, on top of not eating, dealing with the devil himself face to face. I don’t know about you but when I am tired and/or hungry I am definitely not on my ” A” game. Yet, Jesus set the example for us in resisting temptation and following the call of God.

In honor of this time of fasting for forty days and forty nights, many Christians give up something they enjoy during this season. It is a a time of self-denial and self-reflection.  Yet, when I think of Lent, I not only think about giving up something I enjoy but I reflect on my own personal walk with God.

On February 22nd, along with many other Christians I will attend a worship service where my minister will place ashes on my forehead. As these ashes are placed, these are the things I will be asking myself and praying over during the forty days.

Am I obedient to God’s word?

Does my lifestyle demonstrate the life of Christ?

Where do I need to improve in my walk with God?

Where is God calling me to serve?

Where do I need to seek reconciliation?

Am I always in tuned to the whispers of God?

Most of all, do I always put the world behind me and follow Jesus?

"The world behind me. The cross before me. I have decided to follow Jesus."

As you mark your calendar of appointments and activities. circle February 22nd. As you circle this date, begin to reflect on Lenten Season and its meaning for you. This may be a good time to begin a journal and write your own personal reflections and conversations with God during this most holy of seasons.

My personal thought and summary on Lent: “It is not about what you give up but it is about what you get up and do to follow and  live the life of Christ.”


Blessings

[tweetmeme]

 

3 thoughts on “Don’t Just Give Up but Get Up!

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

