Prayer. For me it is one of the essential things in my daily walk with Christ. It is through prayer, where I surrender what is on my heart, give daily praises to God for the smallest of blessings like waking me up each morning. I am a true believer in  1 Thessalonians 5:17; “pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”   It is through prayer that we build our relationship with our Creator,God and walk through every minute of our day with our Lord and Savior.

When Jesus was with his disciples, He gave instructions of how to pray and how not to pray. In Christ’s  teachings in Matthew 6, Jesus gives us a model prayer. This prayer is best known as the Lord’s prayer.  To me, there nothing more beautiful than hearing a group saying the  Lord’s Prayer together.  I also remember as a child my father would come to my brother’s room and then to my room to say bedtime prayers. As we said those prayers, we always ended with the Lord’s Prayer.

This afternoon, I was reflecting on the Lord’s Prayer and what each line in the prayer meant to me. Then, as I began to reflect more and write, my fingers thumb through the Gospel of Matthew to the Lord’s Prayer. In the Lucado Life Lesson’s Bible, Max Lucado has questions of application on the Lord’s Prayer. He asks the reader to take the Lord’s Prayer and re-write it into their own words. Before seeing this application, I had already been reflecting on the Lord’s prayer and had already began writing the reflection down.  I would like to share my reflection of the Lord’s Prayer.

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father in heaven,

My Creator, my Father who has an eternal home for me,

Hallowed be Your name.

Your name is the sweetest name in all the world.

When I hear Your sweet name, I feel Your mighty presence.

Your kingdom come.

Your kingdom lives in my heart at this moment. 

But, one day I know I will be with you in Your eternal Kingdom.

Your will be done

On earth as it is in heaven.

Today, I will share the good news of your Kingdom that is here for everyone.

I will extend Your invitation to others to be a part of Your kingdom.

To my best ability, I will show others Your kingdom through my words and my actions.

Give us this day our daily bread.

God, I know you will provide what I need to get through the day.

And forgive us our debts,

As we forgive our debtors.

God, You forgive me when I fall short 

Help me to forgive others and not keep records of wrong doings.

And do not lead us into temptation,

But deliver us from evil one.

Lord, each day we are surrounded by temptations.

Walk with me, guide me and protect me from giving into the temptations of the world.

For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever.

I am Your creation and all that is around me belongs to You.

You have ALL dominion over ALL things. 

Earthly rewards mean nothing compared to living for

Your glory and one day being in the presence of Your glory.

For this, I will always sing praises to You.

            AMEN

Your Child,

April

Today, if you haven’t already, I encourage you to create a “God Time” where you seek His presence, surrender your heart and where you stay in constant relationship and communication with Him.  I also  encourage you to read the Lord’s Prayer, say the Lord’s Prayer and reflect on this beautiful model of prayer. What do you hear God speaking to you through the prayer His Son taught us all to pray?

Blessings

[tweetmeme]

