Rain, Rainy weather

Image via Wikipedia

[tweetmeme]

Cast your cares on the LORD 
   and he will sustain you; 
he will never let 
   the righteous be shaken.

Psalm 55:22

Ever since I started sharing my words and thoughts about God’s love for us, healing and leaning on Him in the difficult times, I never remember from one post to the next what I have written. My dad says he is the same way when it comes to writing his works and poems. It is like God fills me up to write the words He wants written. Then, He moves me on to His  next assignment.

There have been times when I have written something and then something in my own personal life happens. In these moments, I go through my archives and most times will see words that God gave me to write looking at me and talking straight to me. There are moments in my own personal life where I experience the whys? the how comes? and the hurts of life.

It is in these moments when I see the hand of God at work even more.  God speaks to me once again with the words that He once filled me with to put on paper on His behalf. Today has been one of those days.

This morning, I awoke to stormy skies. “Ugh!”  I thought to myself as I got up to shower and get ready to meet my small group at Panera Bread. It was the fact I was meeting my small group that made getting out in the rain a little more bearable. I knew once I had my favorite spinach Quiché, ice tea, sharing and prayer time with my small group gals, I would be able to conquer the list of things to do for the day with ease.

My small group met.  Not all of us could make it but the ones of us who did laughed, shared what we had done over the holiday, had devotional, prayer time and just uplifting fellowship on such a dreary day. As we begin dismissing to go on with our individual agendas for the  day, we hugged one another and wished one another a great day.

After leaving Panera Bread, my list of  tasks and goals for the afternoon were accomplished without any flaws. As I drove home, the clouds began to gather in but it didn’t bother me because I had a song in my heart and a smile on my face. I thought to myself of all the blessings of the morning as I traveled to the house. My thoughts as I pulled into my driveway were; “it may be raining but life is still good!”

Then, that is when it happened. My cell phone began to ring as I entered the house. I didn’t recognize the number but I answered. It seems as I answered that I knew that this was not a phone call one wants to receive. It was one of our small group gals. She had bad news. One of our members had lost her life in a car accident this morning. She was traveling to the next town over to take care of her mom.  “Oh no!” I said as I received the news. My stomach felt like I had been kicked really hard.

Not long after receiving this bit of horrible news, I receive another call. This time from someone in my Sunday School group. One of our members has been fighting lung cancer. It seems that the end is quickly coming near for her. “We have been asked to be honorary pallbearers at her funeral when the time comes” was what this member was calling to tell me.

Phone rings again! It is Jim this time. (I had called him earlier to tell him of the news of the loss of our small group sister. But, he could not talk because he was walking into an examining room for a consult with his physician).  I bring Jim up to speed on all that has happened in the last half hour. Then, I ask him about his appointment. His response was “doctor said I could lose a more weight and my blood pressure was high.” Jim goes on to tell me more about his appointment and follow ups to be scheduled.

As I sat in front of my computer to email small group friends and attempt to notify my Sunday School group on both fronts, I was at a loss for words. “God, I am your vessel. I am always the encourager and the one telling people to draw strength from you in the difficult times. Now, I am having to practice what I write.” “God, wrap your arms around me right now. Give me what I need to walk through these storms that have occurred today.”

A few minutes later, I got my email written in the best way I knew how. Then, I cruised over to my web site and began surfing my archives. As I cruised through past posts I had written and I saw God’s divine intervention. Words, music, quotes and scriptures began to appear on my screen. There were words of comfort and words of peace. At this moment, I saw that not only has God been using me as His vessel but I saw that through the words he has whispered in my ear over time were appearing to me and bringing comfort.

Then, as I write this post, I remember our devotional from group this morning. It was about adversity, trials in our lives and God at work in all things. We shared about angels at work around us, God’s divine intervention and how we must be in tuned to His voice at all times.  It was probably at that very moment of time when God was welcoming one of our dear sisters in Christ home. You see, God was at work. He knew what we would need later in the day. It was the words I heard read and shared this morning that began to hug around me, comforting my soul and bringing me peace.

Then, I remember a post I had written a while back. It is calledWhen There Aren’t Words”.   After scrolling through the archives I found it and read it. Again, another hug from God. You see, the words I write are not my words but they are God’s words. It was His words before me in that post that brought even more comfort, peace and another hug.

Now, as I bring these thoughts to a close, I remember a phrase that came to my mind this morning as I was getting ready for my day. The quote was “Life is not about waiting for the storms to pass…but it is learning to dance in the rain.” It is raining today literally and figuratively.  However, I know that my small group  sister in Christ is in heaven with our Father. I can see her sweet smile looking up at the face of Jesus. With this vision in my head, I can say that I now can go on with my day and take a ” dance in the rain.” 

Storms happen. When they do, just askWord of God Speak. Won’t You fall down like rain.”Mercy Me}  Then, feel the warmth of God  wrapping His arms around you and giving you a hug. Once you do this, I know you will be able to go “dance in the rain.”
 

Blessings and  Peace-

This is written for a very special group of ladies, Potter’s Clay. It is also dedicated in loving memory of Margaret Cavitt whose smile will be dearly missed but we know she will always smile down on us from heaven.

