“Tis The Season!”

“I know God would not give me more than I can handle but why does he have to trust me so much?!

[tweetmeme]

“Tis the season!” The season of parties, more things to do than usual, shopping and baking. As I looked over my list of what needs to be done around here the quote; “God does not give me any more than I can handle but I wish he would not trust me so much!”  Sound familiar. We all have thought and/or felt this when the list is long and the time is short.

God began to speak to me as I pondered over this quote and got myself together for my bible study’s Christmas party. “I wish he would not trust me so much….hum..” Is it really  God trusting me so much as it is he who is wanting me to trust him more? Yes, God does not give me more than I can handle even though I look at my list with bewilderment of trying to figure out what to do first or next!

In my conversation with God, he helped me to realize that it is in the things to do, the shopping, the parties, the baking and coordinating Christmas plans with family that he is wanting me to lean on him.  He wants me to place ALL of these activities into his hands and allow him to help me through. As I surrender these lists to God, I realize that I am drawing closer to him in my walk with him. He and I are talking more. The more I surrender to him the more I can handle all there is to do.

Are Christmas lists getting the best of you? Are you thinking “I know God would not give me more than I can handle but I wish he wouldn’t trust me so much?” If you are, realize that God is trusting you to trust him. Place those lists into his hands, talk to God about the concerns on your lists. As you begin to surrender to him, you will see that you can handle all that is before you.

Here are a couple of scriptures that can also help you get through the Christmas Season:


John 14:27

I am leaving you with a gift – peace of mind and heart! And the peace I give isn’t fragile like the peace the world gives. So don’t be troubled or afraid.


Philippians 4:6-7

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything; tell God your needs, and don’t forget to thank Him for His answers. If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will keep your thoughts and your hearts quiet and at rest as you trust in Christ.

Christmas Blessings!

6 thoughts on ““Tis The Season!”

  1. “For unto whomsoever much is given, of him shall be much required:” Luke 12:48
    But our Lord is very gracious, He gives us strength day by day, “as our days our so shal our strength be.”

    “Eat, drink and be merry” is the world’s carefree philosophy at this time of year.

    The Christian’s response.
    “That in all things HE might have the preeminence” Col 1:18

    Exactly what will it mean to put Christ 1st this Holiday season ?
    How much time and attention in detail to get
    “everything else right”
    compared with making
    “Christ preeminent”
    Only you can do the comparison for yourself.

  2. I think this is just the tip of the iceberg! God seems to trust us beyond shopping lists and Christmas parties. I think what you’ve said can also be applied to many areas of life with all our responsibilities and God-given dreams. As He trusts us to do what we can, we in turn trust Him to do His part of the promise!

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

