Emptying My Jar….Priceless!

2 Corinthians 4:7-17

New International Version (NIV)

 7 But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. 8 We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. 10 We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. 11 For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may also be revealed in our mortal body. 12 So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.

 13 It is written: “I believed; therefore I have spoken.”[a] Since we have that same spirit of[b] faith, we also believe and therefore speak, 14 because we know that the one who raised the Lord Jesus from the dead will also raise us with Jesus and present us with you to himself. 15 All this is for your benefit, so that the grace that is reaching more and more people may cause thanksgiving to overflow to the glory of God.

 16 Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. 17 For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. 

Jars can contain many things. If you looked in my fridge right now, you would see many jars. One jar contains mayo, another pickles, another bread starter and the list would go on. These jars are jars with contents that the human eye can see and we paid a price for these jars that hold the various items we use in our daily lives. Yet, I want to share about another jar that I have in my life. This jar is priceless.

The jar I am talking about is me. I am merely a jar.  Inside this jar is a God shaped space that only Jesus can fill.  It is through my writings that I attempt to share my faith and the GOOD NEWS of Jesus Christ.  Each time I write, I ask God for His wonderful love to be revealed and seen through me.  I also ask God to give me the strength, the words and the power to convey what others are searching for in a chaotic world.

Is emptying my jar of my priceless contents always easy? No.  There are moments when I have no clue of what I need to write or share. It is in those times, I need to seek even more His presence, listen to His voice, and ask Him for guidance and direction.  Most times, the topics I write about are not the ones I thought I would write,  and I have written on topics I did not think I would touch. This happens when God pours His power and His contents into my jar.

There have been times where I have been criticized about what I have written. In every situation, there is always a critic. For a while, this bothered me but then I realized that God was placing them in my path for a reason. Not only in my writing have I encountered critics but I have encountered from time to time over the years in my Christian walk. It is through these critics and trials that I have walked through where I experienced God’s grace and presence all the more.  In this process, I learned more about myself, dug my heels in a little deeper in my faith, and faced the importance of accountability.  In my sharing faith, I am accountable to my readers, to God, and most of all to myself. Each evening, as I wash my face, I look in the mirror and ask; “did others see God in me today?” “Did others see the true contents of my jar?”

There have been times when I sit at the computer with a blank screen wondering how to word a thought God has placed in my heart, or feeling too tired or burned to write.  My summer was a good example of feeling too weary and overwhelmed to answer where I would muster up the energy to even write. “Who wants to hear from someone who is weary?” “Am I better just shutting off the computer and moving on in life?” Yet, as I asked myself these questions, God would supply what I needed. It was through the weariness, the trials, and constant running where I saw God’s blessings the most.  Thus, giving more contents to spill out of my jar to share with others. God showed me how my sufferings  were opening doors of opportunities to share God’s grace, love and peace.

Every day, God gives me a new day. He awakens me with a full jar of contents that He instructs me to pour out and share with others as I go through my day. Yes, there are days where the words and energy aren’t simply there. There are days with more trials than others. But, in the end, I still empty my contents to the best of my ability so that others will experience God’s wonderful presence, grace and learn of a wonderful eternal home.

How about you?  Do others see the contents of your jar?  I encourage you to invite God to fill the empty recesses of your jar with priceless contents. Then, as jar is filled, empty your jar for others to see the love of  God and is wonderful grace.  The results of emptying your contents are priceless!

Blessings

[tweetmeme]

2 thoughts on “Emptying My Jar….Priceless!

  1. What a priceless analogy. We have observed, as writers, that our jar often does not runneth over. Nor will it ever be filled unless we empty it now and then as the Spirit calls. As long as we consider ourselves as His vessel He will speak through us. 4hispraise

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

