hand.

“Wounds do heal, but there are times to allow the Great Physician to perform surgery so that they will heal right.”

Nancie Carmichael

[tweetmeme]

Over time, many of us encounter being hurt and wounded. Sometimes, the hurt comes from another person possibly someone we admire or even love. Other times the hurt may be from something tragic that happens in life. No matter how the wound occurs, it does cut through the heart like a knife. Thus, leaving questions to God and sometimes even questioning God. We may even feel like God has moved away from us.

During my lifetime, I have encountered such hurts. In the past, I have questioned God about why certain hurts took place.  I have also felt like God moved so very far away from me. But, in the end, I came to realize that God is there in the midst of all the hurt and questions. As a result, my faith grows stronger. My relationship with God grows stronger. Plus, I learn some things about myself that I needed to know.

Some people are walking around at this moment with a heart full of hurt. You may be one of them. But, we don’t have to carry that burden. God sent us His Son, Jesus to heal the wounded and broken heart.  In order for the Great Physician to heal our brokenness, we have to surrender  it ALL to Him. It takes a big step of faith and trust to surrender it all to Him. But, when we surrender  the hurt to Christ, the healing begins and our relationship with Him grows stronger. Realize that sometimes the healing doesn’t happen instantly. The healing process may take days, weeks, months and sometimes years of fervent prayer giving it all to Christ before we see the healing. From personal experience, I can tell you no matter the wait, whether it be a day or a year or more, it is worth the wait. It is in the healing process that we see God’s blessings, feel and experience God’s grace. The time of healing is a teaching tool to remind us that God is in control and all things do work out for His good and glory.

As I was opening my bible this morning, it opened up to the book of Jude. At the top of the page is the quote that you see at the beginning of this devotional. Then, at the bottom of the page is a prayer that I had written during a time of giving hurts over to God.

Dear Lord,

Perform your surgery on my wounds. You are my GREAT PHYSICIAN. 

It is my faith in You that heals All my wounds and dries All my tears. 

In YOUR time You will  make ALL things new.

It is in your time that ALL  things become beautiful.

Love,

Your daughter, April

“And we know that ALL things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called to His purpose.”   Romans 8:28

Are you hurting today? Surrender ALL of your hurts to the hands of Christ. Please know that God didn’t move but He is wanting to move closer to you.

