Extraordinary Love

The Hawkins’ Cabin: The house that love built. “Joy is not of love by which you can catch souls…We can do no great things-only small things with GREAT love.” Mother Teresa

[tweetmeme]

Do you ever hear a song that tugs in your heart and then you keep hearing it sung in your head? Yesterday, as I was driving away from Jim’s family cabin, I plugged in my Nano and hit play. When I hit play, Ordinary People by Clay Walker came up first on my play list. ‘Wow! God is good!’ I thought to myself as I listened to the lyrics.

This past weekend, Jim and I spent it with his mom, dad, our son, Drew and his new wife, Megan. It was a time of being together at the lake, eating lots of good food, visiting, and just simply getting away from all our worries if only for a few hours. During this visit, I watched Jim’s parents interact with each other, other people and listened when they shared their family values with the newlyweds.

Over the years, Jim and Louise have been loving people not only to their family but to others outside their family. If someone needed food, Louise could and still can whip up something in a  heart beat to nurture not only the physical soul but the spiritual soul as well. She is also a very giving person. There is not a time when someone comes to her house or she visits someone where she doesn’t have a little something to give. It is a token of her heart and a reminder to the recipient that someone does care.

Jim, Sr., has always said, ‘I don’t do nothing well.’ This statement is so true. There is not a moment when he is not fixing something, helping someone or is working on his list for the next project. Despite his mesothelioma, on any given day, you may find him hanging off a ladder down at the church changing light bulbs or checking wiring. Or, you may find him outside working in his garden, helping a neighbor with a project and loving every minute of it. He is a man of endurance.

When you sit in their cabin that they built together with their own hands, you see a beautiful place surrounded by God’s beauty. In that beauty, you see 54 years of love, endurance and faithfulness. Jim and Louise are not celebrities  but they are ordinary people. But, they are extraordinary to their family, friends and to God. The exemplify what it means to walk with Christ as individuals and as a team.

I Peter 5:2-4 is  scripture describing a minister’s role. But, when I read this scripture, I see Jim and Louise Hawkins. They have lived a life of being overseers, they have carried administrative responsibilities in their church, they have feed people physically and spiritually. Along with these qualities they have protected people, prayed for and with many people and most of all, they  have demonstrated what it means to be a lay person in ministry.

Today I pray  that you and I will live an ordinary life. May we demonstrate extraordinary love to those we encounter today.  It is when we are ordinary that we experience that extraordinary warmth and love of Christ.

“Shepherd of the flock of God which is among you, serving others as overseers, not by compulsion but by willingly,not for dishonest gain but eagerly; nor as being lords over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock; and when the Chief Shepherd appears, you wil receive the crown of glory that does not fade away.” 1 Peter 5:2-4

Click the title ‘Ordinary People by Clay Walker’ to be taken to the site where you can hear this song. 

Ordinary People by Clay Walker

I was standing at the checkout by a rack of magazines
Cover story told about another heartbroke beauty queen
How she was gettin' over just one more sad affair
And as I waited for my change, you know it hit me then and there
That ordinary people have extraordinary love
A million little miracles far beneath the stars above
The greatest gift that I could ever wish for you and me
Is a life as ordinary as can be.
Then I heard some famous people had an anniversary
Five long years together, it was Hollywood history
Now my grandma and grandpa never made no printed page
But they took the love of fifty-seven years right to the grave
'Cause ordinary people have extraordinary loveA million little miracles far beneath the stars above
The greatest gift that I could ever wish for you and me
Is a life as ordinary as can be.
Now we all like to watch and by the time the movie ends
Who of us hasn't wished to be a little more like them
But I bet every time two stars are breaking up
That they wish somehow, someway they were a little more like us
'Cause ordinary people have extraordinary love
A million little miracles far beneath the stars above
The greatest gift that I could ever wish for you and me
Is a life as ordinary as can be.
Oh, the greatest gift that I could ever wish for you and me
Is a life as ordinary as can be.

Related articles

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

