Bring It On! You Will Not Win!

Satan. He attempts to stop us in our tracks of our faith walk with  God. In recent days, I have experienced Satan trying to challenge me.  On Sunday, Jim and I were scheduled to sing in choir for both 8:30 and 11:00 worship. Since we had to sing at 8:30, we were to be at church by 8:00 to get our robes on, warm up, and rehearse our anthem. On Saturday night, we made sure our alarm clock was set to where we would get up early enough to take care of the dogs, have a relaxed breakfast and still get to church in plenty of  time.  Satan had other plans. On Sunday morning, we got up on time and then things went down hill. Our newest addition to the family, Smokey has been doing a wonderful job with house training. On this particular morning Smokey did take care of his business outdoors after much deliberation of which blade of grass he would use. We praised him, gave him a treat, and played with him for a few minutes. So far, the morning is running like clock work.  It looks like Jim and I will make it to church a few minutes early.  Then, it happens! I walk by Smokey’s crate only to smell an aroma that did not belong there. I call to Jim to come help me check the situation out. Promptly, Jim gives me Smokey to take outside while he does the cleaning. As the scene progressed, the uglier it got. Smokey is yelping at me, Jim is fussing and I am fit to be tied! In attempt to put Smokey in his alternate crate, he fights me with all his might. I ask; “why this morning? Could it be Satan?” I looked up and said; “Lord, put your heals on Satan and put him  behind me.” Then, I told Satan; “you will not win!” Anyone who knows me that when it comes to a challenge, I am one who will say “bring it on!” Of course, Jim and I did make it to church. We got there robed up and discretely entered the choir loft where the choir was seated and took our seats.

This is just one recent example of how Satan has attempted to throw up a road block and/or challenge in my faith walk. On my way to bible study I have encountered traffic jams, the garage door didn’t want to go up for me to leave, the phone would ring, and/or every traffic light between my house and the church is red.  Challenges that can and will ruffle my feathers, get my blood pressure up and sometimes just simply want to give up. But, in the process of taking deep breaths and praying, I forge on to my destination. Again, I say to Satan;you will NOT win!”

You see, Satan wants me to get flustered, wants me to give up, and decide to just not pursue my journey for that day.  It would have been so much less stressful to just stay at home on Sunday and just chill after the great Smokey episode. But, we continued on our journey. By not letting Satan win, Jim and I participated with other Christians all around the world in World Communion Sunday. We had wonderful fellowship in worship and Sunday School. By the end of the day, we were renewed and encouraged in our faith journey. Satan did not win.

On those days when the garage door won’t go up for me to get to bible study, there are detours and red lights between my house and church. I take a deep breath and pursue on my journey. I know that if I stay the course that I will grow closer in my walk with the Lord. Along with growing closer to my Savior I know I will benefit from fellowship with fellow believers and will get that wind that I need to get through my week.

Road blocks and challenges are issued not only to me on a daily basis. These challenges are issued to every believer every day. Satan wants us to get discouraged. He loves it when our blood pressure rises and when we throw our hands in the air and give up. Yet, if we step back, take a deep breath, send a prayer up and dig our heals in, Satan  CANNOT win!

God gave you and me  something called free will. He has served the ball over to our side of the net. We can choose every day to either let Satan get the best of us. Or, we can decide to tell Satan he will not win. By not letting Satan win, we are more able to see the blessings God gives us each day.

Has Satan issued you a challenge today? Hear these encouraging  words from 2 Thessalonians 3 with you; “But the Lord is faithful, who will establish you and guard you from the evil one. And we have confidence in the Lord concerning you, both that you do and will the things we command you. Now may the Lord direct your hearts into the love of God and into the patience of Christ.” 2 Thessalonians 3:3-5

 Tell Satan to BRING IT ON!  Tell Satan; “YOU WILL NOT WIN!”    Then, continue on in your faith journey.

[tweetmeme]

One thought on “Bring It On! You Will Not Win!

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

