Music - an art for itself - Headphones and mus...

 

“I will singof the LORD’S great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations.” Psalm 89:1

This morning while cleaning up around the house the old hymn ‘He Keeps Me Singing’ keeps running through my mind. As the lyrics and tune play through my mind and heart, I reminisce of one of my father’s early churches in his ministry. The church was Redwine United Methodist Church that is located in rural Georgia. Every Sunday Mr. Mac would be up in front leading the song service with such enthusiasm and joy for the Lord.  This hymn was sung quiet often in that old church and as I remember it, that small congregation sung so loudly that I imagine those traveling down the road in front would have heard it as they drove past.

Recently, one of my bible study groups were sharing their prayer request and praises. As it came to me, I just sighed and said; “just remember our entire family.” I knew I didn’t have to say anymore because everyone had seen on the prayer chain or through circles in church knew that this has been a summer of big waves for our family. But, before I concluded sharing, I also shared that through these storms there have been blessings along the way.

In this old favorite hymn one of the verses say

Tho’ sometimes He leads thro’ waters deep, Trials fall across the way

Tho’ sometimes the path seems rough and steep, See His footprints all the way.

Oh, how that is so true for me at this very moment. As I reflect all that has been going on in the Hawkins’ home this year, I can see my mighty Saviour’s footsteps along the way. He has been walking beside me each and every step. Yes, He has even picked me up and carried me when I didn’t think I could go a step further. Jesus has whispered in my ear ‘not to fear not I am with you and I will let peace be still in all that is happening in your life.’

When God created you and me, He didn’t promise us perfect days but He promised that our days would carve us to perfection one day at a time and one step at a time. It is in our relationship with Christ that can keep us going on those days that aren’t so perfect and when the waves keep rolling in one after another. In our relationship with our Mighty Saviour, we are given strength to face all  that is in front of us.  He gives us the ability to sing praises and seek blessings just when we are about to lose all hope.

‘Jesus, Jesus, Jesus Sweetest name I know, Fills my every longing, Keeps me singing as I go.”  What a beautiful course to hum on any day of things to do but even more beautiful to hum in the midst of life’s storm(s). It has been and is Jesus’ love for me, His holding me and walking with me that has kept me singing this summer. And, as the dust begins to settle, I hum and/or sing it to myself even louder! It is Jesus’ sweet melody that always rings in my heart no matter the circumstance.

It doesn’t matter what kind of day you are having good or bad, I just encourage you to sing as you go knowing that Jesus is walking beside you and at times, will carry you.  His name is the sweetest name anyone can know!

Blessings-

This post dedicated to Redwine United Methodist Church, Royston, Georgia. I will always cherish my early childhood days of singing hymns with a congregation who sung with such joy!

[tweetmeme]

 

