Life Stirred But Not Shaken!

"Cast all your cares upon Him, for He cares for you." 1 Peter 5:7

On Tuesday, August 23, 2011, at 12:57 pm,  Jim and I were on the West Virginia/Kentucky border heading to Washington, DC to attend my uncle’s interment in Arlington the following day.  We had just gotten off the phone with my parents who had just arrived in DC and checked into the hotel that we would all be staying. A  few seconds later, we were getting a text from my parents  saying “Call now!”.   Jim and I looked at each other inquisitively and wondered if something was wrong with a family member traveling up,  the hotel  reservations, or the  hotel. As Jim drove, I began to try to call. However, I would get a message each time telling me that my calls could not go through. Then, we get another text saying “Washington, DC has had an earthquake.” Immediately, Jim and I turn our satellite radio to CNN to hear what had happened. While listening to the details of what had just happened and texting my parents to relay the information, I laughed and told Jim that I had told my small group leader that I was going to Washington, DC to shake things up but I guess God couldn’t wait for me to get there.

Yes, for a few brief moments not only in Washington, DC but in surrounding states the earth shook. People were caught off guard. As a natural reaction, people ran outside of buildings as the ground began to shake. But, if you have been in any earthquake drills and/or information sessions on earthquakes, you will soon learn that you do not run outside but you get in a sturdy doorway or under something heavy like a desk and cover your head.

Jim and I have had a summer of earthquakes in our lives. I won’t go into detail of all that has happened but we have literally spent the summer in the car going to take care of someone, help with some situation, or attend a Memorial service.  It seems as we get our feet back on the ground, another quake happens that adds something else to our plate.

Today, on the small group prayer list that is passed around as we meet, I wrote by my name; “Me-I am physically and emotionally spent.” At the end of the group time, our leader allows us to share our request and elaborate on some of the requests we have put down. As I shared with the group, I told them how the summer has been, all that was and has been on my plate. But, as I shared, I told them that I am not spiritually spent. Life has been stirred a bit over the last few months but my faith is not shaken. As a matter of fact, it has been my faith that has helped me get up each day and take care of matters at hand. My heels have dug deeper into claiming scriptures to get me through the day and clinging to God for the strength I need.

As Christians, we have not been promised perfect days but days that put us in the direction of perfection. There are times when the earthquakes of life happened when we least expect them.   When these life earthquakes happen, just like in a geological earthquake, we don’t need to run but we need to stand in a solid doorway, or a solid piece of furniture better known as Christ our Saviour. Along with positioning ourselves under God’s protective wing,  we need to cover our heads.  We cover our heads by prayer, asking God to provide what we need to get us through the quake.

Today, I ask you how firm is your foundation? If life’s earthquake happened to you at this moment, would you be shaken or just slightly stirred?

Carry this verse with you in the days ahead; ” But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered for a while, perfect, established, strengthen, and settle you. To Him be the glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” 1 Peter 5:10-11

Blessings

[tweetmeme]

Related articles

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

