The Grace Card…don’t leave home without it!

Are You Living God’s Grace?

[tweetmeme]

The last few days,I have caught myself humming the lyrics to an old hymn written by Julia H. Johnston which are “Grace, grace God’s grace; Grace that will pardon and cleanse within; Grace, grace, God’s grace, Grace that is greater than all our sin.”  As I reflect on the meaning of these lyrics of this old familiar hymn, I think about all the times God’s grace has entered into situations in my life.  Then, I reflect on how I can demonstrate that same grace given to me to those around me.

Grace, grace, God’s grace” hums through my mind as I wait patiently for my order to be brought out at a restaurant. The service was not very quick this particular morning. But, I was having  wonderful conversation and fellowship with a dear friend. Our server kept assuring us that our order would be out soon. Now, I could have gotten upset, looked for the manager, complained and ruined a perfectly good visit. Instead, I chose to use the grace card.  You see, I only saw one side of the situation. There could have been a number of things going wrong in the kitchen to slow up the order. It was not for me to judge nor correct.  My task was to simply use my grace card.

There are times when I may be at a check out counter and the clerk is struggling to check me out. They apologize and again I tell them “it’s ok.” I have worked retail and I know what computers can do, when new sales are not put in and what it is like to have something going on personally making it hard to focus on the job. Again, the grace card is issued.

God issued each one of us a grace card. His grace card covers all with no interest.  As God extends His grace to us, it is our responsibility to extend His  grace to others.  Ephesians 4:32 says; “And be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving one another,even as God in Christ forgave you.”  When we use our grace card, we are truly a witness for Christ.  Our using the grace card can make what could be a potentially tense and bad situation a situation that is bearable as well making someone’s bad day a little better.

We all have a busy week ahead. As we prepare to leave the house, we will make sure we have our cell phone, blackberry, wallet, purse, keys and such. But, as we collect these items to journey out for the day, let’s  be sure we have our  grace card…we  don’t want to leave home without it!”

Blessings,

“We never cry out to God and receive a returned check stamped ‘Insufficient Grace.’ “

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

