red tool box

Where is your invitation?

In about two weeks, our son, Drew will be getting married. Needless to say, we are busy putting together the rehearsal dinner. As part of the preparations, Jim and I sent invitations with a response card for those invited to let us know if the invited guest will attend or not.

In the process of getting correspondence back on who would attend this very special dinner, my mom asks my brother if he had sent in his RSVP for the dinner. My brother responded with “no, because I have not received the invitation.” Then, my mom responds by pulling her invitation out of her purse and asking “are you sure? Dad and I got ours last week.” My brother once again declared he had not gotten nor seen anything that resembled what mom was showing him.

As this conversation was taking place, my brother’s oldest son comes through the room and sees the invitation. He says “we got one of those!””I opened it when I checked the mail.” Promptly,  my brother asks his son where is this invitation. My nephew’s response; “oh, it is out in the garage somewhere!” When hearing this response my brother and sister-n-law begin searching the garage while my parents call me laughing and asking me to send them another one. The chances of finding the original were very grim and you would understand if you knew my nephew.

The following day I receive an email from my brother. The email read; “found the invitation.” ” It was in the red tool box.” I still roll with laughter at the very thought of what they went through to find the invitation and to get the RSVP back to me.

In reflecting of what happened to the invitation I sent my brother,  it made me realized each one of us are given an invitation. It was sent on the day of Calvary. Jesus died and opened the doors to paradise so that we could all attend a very special banquet. However, there are some of us who have the invitation and have laid it aside. Or, better yet, we think we cannot respond because it is too late. But, the fact is it is never too late. God just wants us to RSVP by giving Him our hearts and accepting His son, Jesus Christ as our Lord and Saviour.

My question for you today is where is your invitation? Have you RSVP’d? Or, is your invitation in the red tool box?  The invitation has been sent. God is waiting for your reply. He really wants you to be at His banquet table.

Just in case you have not RSVP’d or think it is in the garage somewhere like maybe the red tool box, I am  sending you one now on our Father’s behalf.

Your Heavenly Father and His Son, Jesus Christ

request the honor of your presence at their banquet table.

Date and Time: TBA

RSVP: Today-through prayer asking Jesus into your heart.

“And Jesus said to them, ” I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst. But I said to you that you have not seen Me and yet do not believe. All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will by no means cast out. For I have come down from heaven, not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me.” John 6:35-38

