My niece, Bethany Dobson (right)w/her mom, Venita Dobson. Bethany graduates from Western Kentucky University with a Degree in Nursing.

[tweetmeme]

My Dearest Bethany,

Today, I read Philippians 2:1-5; If you have any encouragement from being united in Christ, if any comfort, from His love, if any fellowship with the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and purpose. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of  you should look not only to your own interest, but also to the interest of others. Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus. As I read this scripture, I’m reminded of you . Over the years, I have watched you grow into a beautiful young lady with a beautiful heart. Bethany, you have demonstrated in your Christian walk what it means to have the mind and compassion of Christ.

On May 14, 2011, you will officially become a nurse. By accepting the call into nursing, you’ve also accepted the call to be a vessel for God. As a vessel for God, you will encounter patients who have been unloved and you will love them through the care you give them. You will also encounter patients are feeling down and sad, and you will bring them cheer with your smile, and Christ-like compassion. I am confident that any patient who has you as their nurse will walk away blessed.

Being married to someone in the health profession, I know from experience that there are going to be days where you will not be able to please anyone no matter how much you put your best efforts forward. There will be days when there will not be enough caffeine to get you through the shift. Then, there will be times when a patient will leave our earthly world to go to their eternal home. It will be in these times that it is important for you to know that God is walking even closer with you. He will be embracing you ever so tight in His arms. On days when you don’t think you can’t answer another nurse call button, just hold tight to Philippians 4:13; I can do EVERYTHING through Him who gives me strength.  Believe it or not, it will be in those tough times when you are totally relying on Him to get you through  that you will receive the greatest blessings.

Speaking of blessings, you have been a wonderful blessing to your family. Your smile, caring thoughts, Facebook messages, and being the angel you are have blessed my life. I am positive that there are many others that will say the same thing about you.

My wish for you is that God will bless you in your new career. It is my prayer you will see the face of Jesus in the everyday routines in your life. For, I know others are going to see Jesus in you.

Bethany, congratulations on your accomplishments! Along with the rest of your family, I am very proud of you. Remember, you are a vessel for God and He will fill you with what you need.

Love and Prayers,

Your Aunt April

