Prayer of Jonah Jonah Chapter Two

One evening, Jim and I were watching television. The more we watched a particular show, the more we questioned the integrity of the show and the message it was sending out to our young people. I will not mention the show but it is one that started early in the season that seemed to be fun to watch.  Yet, as the season  progressed, the envelope seemed to be getting pushed with each  episode.

My brother has two young boys that are eleven and eight.  I have friends who are raising young children and/or have teens in their home.  When Jim and I were raising Drew, we didn’t have Facebook, Twitter, and some of the programming that is currently on television.  As I watch my brother and his wife raise their boys and hear the worries of parents and their teens, I just keep throwing up prayers for these young people and parents. The road is not an easy one. I am sure our parents thought the road was not easy with us. Our parents most likely dealt with things in our generation that were not an influence in their generation.

Along with keeping these young people and parents in my prayers, I have recently found myself asking God what can I do to help? What can I say to these parents who are frustrated with trying to help their children deal with all the influences of the world and their peers. Then, as I began asking God these questions, Ephesians 6:11-13 came to mind. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against flesh, and blood,  against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of darkness of this age, and against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

When I read this scripture, God had given me an answer to my questions. Every day we get up and get dressed for the day. Along with our dressing for the day, we need to put on our armor of God and we need to show our children how to put on the armor of God. Our children learn by our example.

What is the armor of God? The armor of God is how we demonstrate our faith in our daily activities. We live a life of honesty and integrity. Before starting the day, we ask God to shield us and our children. This armor also includes asking God for wisdom for all situations that may come our way that day. It includes asking God to help us stand firm in our faith when we are confronted by temptations.

Yes, our young people are faced with many influences in society today. As adults we are also faced with many influences having to make the right choices. But, when we put on the armor of God, it makes discerning the right influences from the wrong influences a little easier. We all have to be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might( Ephesians 3:10). 

Blessings

