Angry cat

We are to be slow to anger and hold no wrongs on our Christian journey.

[tweetmeme]

 ” Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices in truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, and always perseveres.” (1Corinthians 13:4-7) 

My last couple of posts have been focused on 1 Corithians 13:4-7 and what it means to display the example of God’s wonderful love and to live our lives in His likeness. In this post we will look at the remainder of this chapter of how love is not self seeking, rude, does not anger and keeps no records of wrongs. Furthermore, the remainder of this passage reminds us to trust God  and to pursue our journey with Him.

 In my post Does Self Get  In The Way of Your Christian Walk?, I share a personal testimony of how I allowed self get in the way of my Christian walk. When I allowed self to get in the way, all it did was cause guilt, shame and put me on my knees seeking forgiveness. Instead of allowing self being in the way of our Christian walk, no matter the situation we are in, we need to stop, take a breath, think and pray before we act or speak. It is important to keep our eye focused on God on our journey here on earth.

Along with love not being self-seeking and rude, we are told love is not easily angered.  Yes, there have been people who have angered me, hurt me, and all I wanted to do was to lash back. I will also confess that I have acted out in anger  in my lifetime and have since sought forgiveness for those moments.

What does anger do to us? Anger can make us physically sick, make us an emotional wreck, and it takes our eyes off of Christ and His grace. Allowing ourselves to be angry, is allowing Satan to have a hold on our hearts. When Satan has this hold on us, we are disabling God to help us in the situation and we are allowing Satan to steal the joy and blessings that God has planned for us.  Over time, though a hard lesson it has been, I have learned to let go and let God! Once, I began to put the situation or person into God’s hands, my stomach quit hurting, there was peace in my heart and I was able to forgive and ask for forgiveness. As a result, I would pray for the person or situation that made me angry asking God for a softening of hearts for all parties involved.  In my prayers, I would also ask God to forgive me for being angered and allow me to see others as Christ sees them.  To this day, being not easily angered still is and always will be a challenge for me. You see, I am human but, as a Christian,  I  know what to do about that anger and I have a choice to allow the anger be a burden or to let go and let God.

Love does not keep a record of wrongs. There have been many times I have heard the statement; “I will forgive but I won’t forget.”  What good does it do to keep a record of wrongs?  Again, we are allowing Satan to have the upper hand in keeping our minds busy with past wrongs. Hey, people can change and have changed for the better. But, if we keep a record of their wrongs, how are we being the Christian example of grace and forgiveness. Instead, we need to look beyond the past and look to the present.  We also need to seek the good in ALL people.  Remember that the person who has made us angry and/or has done wrong is also a Child of God and is His workmanship.

Last but not least, love always protects, trusts, hopes,always perseveres. No matter the challenge that is before us on our Christian journey, we must remember that God’s love protects us and  our trust should be in Him. It is through the love of Jesus Christ that gives each one of us hope no matter our circumstances.  As I have shared before and will many times more, God has a plan and it is a good plan.  Sometimes, we may question His plan and wonder why we are being put to the test. But it is all a part of our Potter molding us into his likeness. Thus, it is important for us to persevere in our journey, demonstrating His love and grace.

There is no greater love than the love that was demonstrated on the cross over two thousand years ago. Think about all the pain and suffering our Saviour endured while on earth and on that cross. When you think about Christ’s suffering, our challenges don’t seem to be so bad. 

Each post, I try to issue you a challenge.  It is a challenge for me as well. This week I have several challenges that I would like to put before you as you carry 1 Corithians 13:4-7 in your heart:

1. Pray daily  for patience in the areas where you need patience.

2. Don’t envy what another person is doing nor envy what he/she has. May you be content with what God has blessed you with. Count your blessings! You may want to start a blessing journal. You realize you will want less when you see all that God has given you.

3. Remember to put God first in all situations.  What would Jesus do?

4. Someone or something has made you angry. Let go and let God! Put the situation and/or person into God’s hands. Allow His love and grace to intervene and remember to be patient because God has his plan and he works it out in his time NOT our time.

5. Each day put your trust, and hope into the Lord. Then, persevere in the walk before you demonstrate God’s grace and wonderful love.

Blessings

