Circle-question

Who Are You?

Who are you? Who or what defines who you are?  Our society attempts to influence us by telling us that we are nobody if we don’t own certain products, live certain places or vacation at certain resorts. We are also defined by our occupations at times.  At some time or the other we all struggle over who we are, what we do and how do we look to other people.

As I write this, I reflect on my own personal struggles of identifying who I am in this big world God created.  Until recently, the perfectionist in me worried about what others thought about me and how I presented myself to someone.  You see, I was trying to find my self value in what I had, what I did, and what others thought of me.

Then, through bible study, reading authors like Beth Moore, Joyce Meyer, Andy Andrews, participating in small groups and through  prayer, I realized that who I am, what I do and how I  am valued is not placed on me by what I do or have in this world. But, my value comes from my relationship with Christ.  When I put on Christ, I know my true purpose, I know that I am valued, loved and accepted not just by my family and friends but by God.  It is through Christ, I know who I am! Thus, when you see my profile on Twitter or my biography on Facebook, you will see that I have put Child of God and Daughter of the King!

After grasping this concept that I matter most to God, my heart began to smile more and I began to see more of the hearts of other people instead of what they do, what they have or don’t have. Today, when I meet someone for the first time or someone I have known for quite a while, I simply see another Child of God and  a Son/Daughter of the King.  

My challenge for you is to reflect on who you are and to realize that you are a Son/Daughter of the King! Then, as you encounter people through the day and week, let them know that they are a valued Child of God!

Now, when people ask “Who are you?” My reply is “I am a Child of God and Daughter of the King.”  1Peter 2:9 sums it up quite well; ” But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” Wow! How is that for value?

Blessings

[tweetmeme]

 

 

