I Win!

Picture of a Spalding Basketball
“Consider it pure joy my brothers, whenever you face many trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.” James 1

[tweetmeme]

As  I write, University of Georgia is playing against University of Kentucky in basketball. Now, one would think that when a Georgia Girl is married to a Kentucky Boy, the house would be divided on such a game day. Yet, over the years,  I have learned to take this challenge in stride. In my closet I have a Georgia sweatshirt and an UK shirt.  I am ready to wear my colors for either opponent. Although, during the game time, I may lean toward the red and black just a little. But, when the time clock buzzes indicating the end of the game and the players shake hands, I win either way!

My dad shared a story about winning a little over a year ago. He had a parishioner who had cancer and had gone into remission and was doing well.  Then, one day, the cancer came back and as this parishioner learned of this news, he shared with Dad “no matter what I win.” “If I am cured from the disease, I win.” If my time comes to pass on to the Kingdom of God, I win.” What an awesome attitude and outlook on the big picture of life.

Sometimes, we are dealt hands in life that we don’t think we can win but in  God’s eyes He sees us as already winners. For some, it may be a terminal illness, some loss of job, or life transitions and challenges. Yet, no matter the situation that has come to us in life, we have already won no matter the outcome. Being a child of God already makes us a winner.  The win is as believers, we will receive the crown of life that we have been promised by our Heavenly Father. James 1:12 says it well; Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to ALL those who love Him.

Right now, there may be a challenge put before you. You do not know what you are going to do and how you are going to handle it all. I encourage you to count your blessings everyday, remember He is with you ALL the way and you have already won!

Regarding University of Kentucky vs. University of Georgia it looks like the Georgia sweatshirtwill be coming out of the closet to wear.  You see, no matter what, I WON!!

As you go through your week ahead, I encourage you to go back and read James 1:1-18. 

Blessings-

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

