[tweetmeme]

1009740_546283838745989_553677898_nThis past Sunday, our minister spoke on the topic of Simplicity.   Today’s economy is  pushing all of us to evaluate what is and isn’t important when it comes to spending habits and even how we spend our time.  We are all having to simplify in our lives.  He encouraged us not only to evaluate and see what we need to get rid of in the material sense but he encouraged us to present ourselves and empty ourselves before God.  Thus, allowing God to fill us with what we truly need.

Blessing from God

Last night, before going to bed, I bowed in prayer. First, thanking God for all the wonderful blessings He had sent my way,  asking for forgiveness for any wrongs I may have done, asking for His protection over loved ones near and far, and to lay a healing hand on those who were sick.  Before closing my prayer time with God, I remembered that encouragement from Sunday to go before God and empty myself to Him. As I emptied myself to Him, I told God that I was His vessel. My prayer continued with  asking Him to fill me up, to help me trust Him more and to be assured that He is always there and that my needs would always be met.

fill me up

We all have heard to be careful of what you pray for on many occasion.  As I fell asleep,  God was about to humble me, send me His assurance, love, grace of how He will and does provide in His own time.  God spoke! He spoke very clear to me in a dream.  It went something like this:

Jim being the avid bike rider that he is becoming had encouraged me to go on a bike trip with him. I do not know the destination of  our journey but I knew Jim had planned quite a distance.  In the midst of our travel, we encounter a storm.  A storm where we needed to seek shelter. Bewildered of what to do, we look up and there is this man pointing to a house.  We took this gesture from this man as a sign that this house would be our place of refuge during the storm. 

As we enter this house, a lady who’s face we never see, greets us with towels to dry off with and warm cups of coffee.  She shows us to a room where we can sit and wait out the storm.  This person acknowledges that she knows what is in our hearts and what our most urgent prayers are and our most urgent needs.  This female persona tells us that she has relayed all the needs of our hearts to our host.  She tells us that he is here and with us.  Jim and I look a bit puzzled but something tells the both of us to just trust.

Once getting settled in our safe place for the night, I fall asleep only to be awaken by this nudge of someone I recognize but cannot see.  At first, the nudge from our host startles me but after a second I am at peace.  He tells me that I know who he is and assures Jim and I that our needs will be provided for very soon. Though he does make it clear that these needs will be provided for  on his watch and not ours.  Again, Jim and I look in amazement and puzzlement at each other. Yet, we still know not to doubt but to just trust.

During the night, I hear voices of other people coming  and going into this house. Through the walls, I hear the host of this home  giving others the same assurances that he had given Jim and me.   Words cannot describe this whole experience but it became so amazing to hear people coming into this house seeking refuge from the storm. To see this person take care of every need of every person.  It is very difficult for me to put into written form much less express what I was being shown in this dream.

 Curiosity gets the best of me.  There is a window that I can look through into another room. He sits there with this family who’s dilapidated old car has given out and they are caught out in the storm.  They are on their way to see a sick loved one and are afraid that they will not make it.  I feel this person smile, and he gives this family his assurances that all will be ok.  

Daybreak comes and the storm has passed.  Again, I look through the window and I see our host with this frazzled family. Again, I can feel him smile as he  provides transportation for this family along with all that they need to go be with their loved one.  As I am observing  and telling Jim what I see, the lady enters our room.  She assures us that we have not been forgotten and tells us that he will address our needs in time. “Needs”, I thought to myself. “What are our true needs at this moment?” Jim and I needed to either get back on our bikes and head back home or finish the journey we had started.   I had not eaten but was not hungry and was quite content.   “Hum, what are my true needs?”  That was  a question that could not be shaken from my head nor my spirit.

The whole concept of what we truly needed had changed through the course of a night.  When we first arrived, we just wanted to be dry, warm and safe.  We probably had some trivial wants in mind thinking they were what ‘we needed’. However, at that moment, all we wanted to do was just sit there in this house that had been our shelter through the night and simply absorb this person’s love for all, his grace and generosity.

looking for an answer

At 1:00 AM, I am awake and I think to myself; “I need to write this experience down but I need my sleep at the moment.  God poked me and told me to get up and write it down at that very moment.  As I wrote out this experience, God teaches me more and reveals Himself to me.  You see, the man pointing to the house was Jesus. He is the way, the truth and the light.”  The female persona who greeted us was the Holy Spirit. We could not see her but we felt her presence. She already knew what was on our hearts and our true needs.  She sought out our host and  spoke to him  on our behalf.  By the way, who was this host? The host who was so generous, loving, warm and who provided the needs of every single person seeking refuge in the storm? The answer to that is simple and I know that you know it was our heavenly Father/God. We did not actually see him but we felt His presence, felt His assurances and the house we were in was God’s house. Though he was tending to others at times, we didn’t doubt that we would not be cared for in time.

Last night, I did what someone encouraged me to do. By emptying myself and presenting myself to God,  God  replied  in the most beautiful way and filled my cup until it was and still is overflowing.  Through a dream, He got my attention.  He showed me his great love for all people, His warmth, and that He does provide us of what we truly need.   Daybreak came and I awoke and stood in awe of His mighty love and grace. As I put this testimony into a post this afternoon, I am still absorbing the incredible and indescribable love of God.  As an old eighty’s song goes:”What a feeling!”.

seek God

There are two important points I want you to take with you when you leave my site today. One, is when the storms of life come, know you can take refuge with God. He will take care of you and the needs for that time. He not only cares for you in the storm but he provides for all your needs every day. Be aware of God at work in all areas of your life. Two, when  you aren’t sure of your true needs, ask the Holy Spirit to represent you before God.  The Holy Spirit knows your  heart and knows what to ask God on your behalf.  Also, when you are uncertain of your true needs, pray for wisdom and discernment.

Right now, before you leave this site, I want to encourage you as I was encouraged on Sunday. Present yourself before God and empty yourself to Him.  Allow Him to fill you up. Trust me, what you thought were needs may no longer be needs.  Your priorities will definitely be changed when you empty yourself to God and the results will be indescribable!  Trust me, it happened to me in the last twenty-four hours!

May you experience His peace as you go through your day.  Also, know that I am lifting my readers up in prayer each day. May you be emptied and then filled until your cup is overflowing.

Until next time, Keep the faith!

