Tide logo

"Wash me and I will be whiter than snow" Psalm 51:7

[tweetmeme]

Today has been one of those days where if it is going to happen it’s going to happen to me. I have tripped over things, dropped things, and have been  all thumbs. Once again, God got my attention and gave me a bible lesson in the middle of all that could go up in my face.

This afternoon, I decided I was going to spruce up the laundry room.  As I began to straigten up shelves and clean up around where I keep the detergents and such, I noticed that my Tide bottle had a little bit of detergent on the bottom. Clever me decided to take this half full bottle of Tide to the kitchen and wipe the bottom off.   As I proceeded to do this, I tilted the bottle over just enough not realizing the cap was not on tight. Next thing I knew, Tide was spilling  and going everywhere!   It was all over the kitchen floor, all over me and the side of the cabinet.  My response was “typical for the day; just typical!”.  In the midst of my frustration and mulitple towels cleaning up this spill,  I was reminded of the  importance of getting down on my knees to be wiped clean. Through this frustrating and yet comical episode, God  reminded me of how he cleanses me when I bow before him and repent. When I mess up and do wrong, he doesn’t zap down from heaven and pour Tide all over me. He reminds me that I am made clean  through my relationship with his son Jesus Christ. 

Once I got the spill cleaned up, my clothes, towels, and shoes were already full of detergent.  All I had to do was put them into the wash and hit the Start button on the washing machine.  My relationship with Christ is like hitting the start button on the wash.  No, I don’t have Tide all over me but I am covered by His spirit and my sins are washed by His blood that was shed for me.  All I have to do is hit the Start button  by getting on my knees and let Him do the wash.

When is the last time you got on your knees before God and confessed your sins?  Don’t wait until you have a major spill in the kitchen that requires you to get on your knees.  Bow before God now and allow yourself to be washed and made clean through the blood of his son Jesus Christ.  Let God do the wash!!

Whiter Than Snow

James Nicholason/Wm G. Fischer

Lord Jesus, I long to be perfectly whole;

I want Thee forever to live in my soul;

Break down every idol, cast out every foe;

Now wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

Whiter than snow, yes whiter than snow;

Now wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

Cokesbury Hymnal Page 146

