Chicago Maraton

Image via Wikipedia

My Dearest Andrew,
Wow! You ran the Chicago Marathon over a week ago. It seems like only yesterday that you were just starting to walk. I am also reminded of the first time I took you to cross-country practice. It was one of the hottest days of summer and I could see in your face how you were struggling with that first running practice. I thought to myself “he’s not going to want to come back.” Yet, after practice, you got in the car and said “practice tomorrow at eight”! You were ready to persevere with running on the cross-country team.

Over time, you have not only persevered with your running but you have done so with so many things in life. You see a task before you and you automatically set your goal and tackle that task one step at a time.  With great determination, compassion and perseverance, you have learned what it means  to go the distance with everything that has been set before you.  You have become a young man with great respect for people. No matter the appearance of a person or their background, you treat them with a lot of compassion, respect and Christian love. You walk your talk of Christian action. Never lose the compassion you have for people.

Now, you are engaged to a beautiful young woman. In about ten months, you will begin your own little family. Dad and I are so excited and happy for you. We both know that you will be a wonderful husband and some day a wonderful dad.

Next August, when you begin this new chapter in your life, carry these qualities of compassion, determination, love, respect and giving into your own family. Megan and you will be challenged to go the distance together, there will  goals that you will want to achieve together and as individuals.  The both of you will encounter people who will be watching your Christian walk as a couple.  Megan and you will be a team.  Setting the pace and running the course together.

The greatest marathon (marriage)that you will ever run is before you. It is my wish and prayer that this marathon with all the challenges that will come along on the course, is that  you will run it with all the heart, soul and determination that you have put into any race. May this race not be ran in a matter of minutes but be ran over the course of a lifetime .  May Megan and you “Go The Distance.”
I love you always,
Mom

“I am not saying I have all this together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has wonderously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward-to Jesus. I’m off and running; and I’m not turning back. “ The Message Philippians 4:12-14

