A few days ago, my son Drew wrote a blog about how big city life can make one callous to the others and things around you. As I read his blog, it made me stop to realize that you don’t have to be in big city to become immune to the needs around you. It can happen anywhere. The remedy to not becoming callous to such situations is to always be aware of God’s presence at all times. How often do we get wrapped up in our routines and forget that God is even there in the most obvious and simple forms?

I am reminded of an example of being aware of God’s presence as I reflect on one of my first trips up to Chicago to visit Drew. It was Labor Day weekend a year ago. Before heading up on the trip, I prayed that I would be aware of His presence as I knew that we would be busy and caught up in our visit with Drew and experiencing all that Chicago had to offer in site seeing.

During our visit, I saw God at work. A street person said something I really needed to hear and that put a pep into my step as I continued to walk down the street. On the CTA, I heard pages turning with a significant sound that only bible pages can make. I turned and looked in the seat behind me and it was a gentleman reading his bible. Throughout the weekend, other encounters happened that demonstrated God’s love and reminded me of His ever existing presence.

Drew made a very good point with his blog about becoming callous. How often do we become so involved and wrapped up in our daily routines, lists and in ourselves that we are not aware of who or what need may be before us? I believe when we become callous that we miss out on many opportunities to truly experience God. In the busy world we live in today, we sometimes have to make that conscious effort to be aware of God and His presence. Will you make that conscious effort to be aware of God’s presence today and in the days ahead? I can assure if you do that you will be richly blessed and a pep will be put in your step along the way.

And He walks with me, and He talks with me, And He tells me that I am His own; And the joy we share as we tarry there, None other has ever known. In The Garden-from Cokesbury Hymnal p.62

Remember He walks with you daily. Be aware of His wonderful presence.

Check out Drew’s site with his Journal and Brain Wads at www.drewhawkins.org

