Can’t Wait!

My fifth grade class…Bowdon, Georgia
I am the first girl on the left front row.

“Can’t wait!” “I’m getting excited!” “So excited that I will be seeing everyone!” are just a few of the postings on my Facebook that I have been seeing for several months.  This coming weekend I will be attending a thirty year class reunion with a class I did not graduate with but have been invited to attend the reunion. In all reality, I have not seen most of these classmates in thirty-four years!

Okay. Now, I have you confused. You are thinking; “she’s going to a class reunion but she did not graduate with the class.” “Did she quit school?”  In answer to these thoughts, is that I did go to school with this group of people from fifth grade to eighth grade. My dad was a minister and was re-appointed to a new congregation after I completed my eighth grade year.

Thanks to Facebook, I have been reunited with these classmates. Classmates that I have often wondered where life has taken them. I have literally not seen some of these classmates since the last day of school in eighth grade. Oh, my family and I did try to go back and visit. But, as we know, life gets busy,  people move on and the visits became less and less frequent over time.

Yet, back in the Spring, I receive a message from one of these dear friends telling me about this reunion coming up. They wanted me to come be a part of the reunion even though I did not complete high school with them. I was told that they always considered me as part of their Class of 1982 family. When I received this message and comment, my heart was warmed.

As I reflect on this upcoming weekend and the comments/status updates that are being posted, I am reminded of another reunion. A reunion that we all are invited to attend. A gathering of friends where we should not want anyone left out. A party where ALL are included.

This reunion is heaven. It’s a banquet where we are ALL invited.  Yet, as with all invitations, there is an RSVP. This RSVP is accepting Christ into our hearts. When we accept Christ into our lives, we are also making the commitment to be his servant/ambassador.

As we accept our invitation to have Christ live in us and us live for Christ, we need to make sure that others are invited. We must ask ourselves the question; “Is there someone I have always considered family that I want to see at this reunion?” Also, in our daily living, we need to show how exciting it will be to be a part of the Kingdom. Remember,  as Christians, we are representatives of the Kingdom.

In our daily living in the days ahead, may we walk with the expressions of “Can’t wait!” “I’m so excited!” ” Looking forward to seeing everyone!” flowing  out of hearts so others will see the joy of Christ’s Kingdom.  We should be so on fire for the Lord that people will want to stop and ask if they can get an invitation.              

Carry these verses in your heart as you journey in your faith walk.

” We proclaim to you what we have seen and heard, so that you also may have fellowship with us. And our fellowship is with the Father and with his Son, Jesus Christ. We write this to make your joy complete.”  1 John 1: 3-4

“We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us.” 2 Corinthians 5:20

Blessings-

About April

Writing encouraging words for a busy world.

Posted on October 8, 2012, in Thoughts from the Porch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Blue Lake Walk To Emmaus, Andalusia, Alabama, Walk 36. Table of John. I grew up Methodist all my life until we moved to Atlanta. Now we’re Baptists. Oh well, we both love covered dish suppers. :>) God bless. And De Colores.

    • Owensboro Walk To Emmaus 36! Did the walk in 1994-Table of Esther. My family still lives in Atlanta. Our son and his wife now live in midtown Atlanta.
      Blessings to you my brother in Christ.

  2. WOW! What a powerful message. This post is real ministry. Sharing your personal life in order to point to the “Reunion” we will have with Jesus. And to make sure everyone is invited. I’m sad to say this was also very convicting. I do not share Christ as avidly as I would like. Your words are powerful. What a great blog. Could I re-post it? Of course, I’d include a link back to your blog. This is worth sharing with as many people as possible.
    I’ll share this with you. My favorite show is Golden Girl re-runs. The other night all four of them went to a class reunion and didn’t know anyone. They didn’t even attend the school having the reunion. Of course they had a miserable time. It was hilarious. Let me know, please, if you’d give me permission to put this on my blog for my readers. Great post. Great analogy. And I hope I can get excited like you for sharing the gospel more. God bless you.

    • Yes, you may re-post. I love the Golden Girls, too. I know the episode you are talking about. Those ladies were all always getting into something!

      Thank you for your encouraging words this morning. I have not had much time to write as I usually do in recent days. But, there are many things on that God has placed on my heart that I will be sharing in weeks to come.
      Blessings
      April

  3. I am looking forward to this. It has been a lot longer than 34 years since I saw almost any of these people.

  4. I think it is wonderful that they invited you to the reunion. I went to my fortieth this summer and had a nice time. tell us all about it when you get back from it!!!

  1. Pingback: The Front Porch « Thoughts from the Porch

  2. Pingback: Glimpse of Heaven « Thoughts from the Porch

  3. Pingback: Class Reunions Are Measuring Points | My Blog

