Better Write It Down

This sign popped up not long ago on my news feed on Facebook. Of course, it was one I “liked” and passed on to other friends. Needless to say, it got a lot of comments, likes and continued shares.

There was a day and time where you could give me a list, phone number and/or appointment and I would not write it down.  I did not write it down because I could and would remember until the information was needed for me to retrieve. However, it seems the closer I get to fifty the more I am losing brain cells. In other words, I had better write it down in order to call the right number, get the right items at the grocery and/or show up for the right appointment at the right place at the right time.

As I stumbled on this sign once again this morning, it made me think of the scriptures. How many of us have special verses memorized? How many can we quote word for word? What scriptures do we have engraved on our hearts? In this reflection of questions I posed to myself, I realized that I need to write them down. Thus, making a commitment to write down a verse for the day and engraving it on my heart.

As I make this commitment to write down  a verse a day and engraving it on my heart, I want to challenge you, my reader to do the same.  There are several ways you can write it down.  You can get index cards and put them on a ring that you can have handy at anytime, use your daily planner (which I am going to do) and write  your verse for the day, or just keep a scripture journal. The bonus of having the scripture journal is that you can write how God is speaking to you through the particular scripture. I do have a scripture journal that I found at a Christian bookstore that allows you to look up verses of your choice but it has thought-provoking questions for reflection.

Why should we write down the words of God and engrave them on our heart? One, it is His words that are our guide of how to live.  Need advice? Read Proverbs. Need to experience God’s presence? Read the Psalms. Need advice on church leadership? Read the book of James. Want to know how to love and be loved unconditionally? Read the Gospels. And, the list goes  on.

Another reason we should write down scripture and engrave it on our hearts is that it gives us that wind we need on those hard to get through days.  It reminds us that God is there walking with us. Along with reminding us that God is walking with us  on those tough days, it also reminds us to give God the glory for the good things (blessings) that happen during our day.

 Last but certainly not least, Isaiah reminds us that God has us engraved in the palm of his hand. “Can a mother forget the infant at her breast, walk away from the baby she bore? But even if mothers forget, I’d never forget you-never. Look I’ve written your names on the backs of my hands.” Isaiah 49:16 The Message  This scripture verse shows  God’s devotion to us. In respect to this loving devotion of our Creator, we should engrave His words into our hearts. After all, his words ARE the words to live by.

Psalm 119:105-112 reminds us; “By your words I can see where I am going; they throw a beam of light on my dark path. I’ve committed myself and I’ll never turn back from living your righteous order. Everything’s falling apart on me. God, put me together again with your Word. Festoon me with your finest sayings, God, teach me your holy rules. My life is as close as my own hands, but I don’t forget what you have revealed. The wicked do their best to throw my off track, but I don’t swerve an inch from your course. I inherited your book on living, it’s mine forever- what a gift! And how happy it makes me! I concentrate on doing exactly what you say- I always have and always will. ( The Message)

Today, I encourage you to start writing down a verse a day and engraving it to your heart. It is without a doubt that as you begin to do this that you will become more aware of God’s presence and His work all around you and in you.

Blessings


About April

Writing encouraging words for a busy world.

Posted on August 17, 2012, in Thoughts from the Porch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I just love watching people write in the palms of their hands during meetings! Thank goodness for my notepad in my cell phone!

