He’s Going To Be Fine

“Mama I Will Be Fine”
On December 25, 2004, I opened a box from my son, Drew and husband, Jim. In this box was the figurine that you see in the picture. Along with the figurine came a card with this written by the artist; The day our children go off into the world, only one thing is certain, things forever change. It’s a time for letting go, a time to let them test their wings, for one day they will fly free. And with them go our hopes and  prayers for the futures, for God has a wonderful plan for their lives. One will find a cure, one will save a life, one will lead a congregation, and one will lead a nation, but none will go alone.”  Bill Stross (Artist of Prayers and Promises) What prompted Jim and Drew to give me this gift was that Drew would graduate from High School that following Spring and then in the Fall off to college he would go.  This was their way of re-assuring me that Drew was going to be okay as he stepped out into the big world of his own. Jim would always say to me “He’s going to be fine.”
 
Spring, 2005 came and Drew graduated and in August we moved Drew to Western Kentucky University. As we moved him into his dorm and helped him get settled in, I prayed that God would take care of my only baby, give me strength to let go, and give assurance that Drew would be okay.  Then, when all was moved in and Drew resisted anymore help from me, Jim and I said our good-byes and headed for home. Home was only an hour and fifteen minutes away but that was the quietest  hour and fifteen minutes that we had ever rode in our car.  The only words spoken were Jim saying again, “He is going to be fine.”
 
As we approached for home, I prayed to God again. Drew had grown up in a Christian home, had been influenced by many Christian leaders in church, school, and within the community.  I knew it was easy for one to stray and I didn’t want Drew to stray. In my prayer, I asked God to send someone to be a friend, mentor, and that would encourage him in his faith. Later, I found out that about the time I prayed that prayer, Drew had made his way over to the campus gym and locker room. He wanted to find out where he was to meet for running practice and become more acquainted with his surroundings.  When Drew arrived at the gym locker room a guy,Mike Duncan, came up and introduced himself. Mike was a runner for WKU as well and he began to show Drew the ropes. Not only did Mike show Drew the ropes but he invited Drew to attend worship with him on the following Sunday. Drew attended worship with Mike and along the way began a bible study group with the runners and began to share Jesus Christ with fellow teammates. This summer, Drew will marry and Mike will be his best man. 
 
College came and went. Drew comes home from college and announced he would be moving to Chicago. When I first heard the news, I began to worry. Thoughts of him getting mugged, robbed, and countless other things that mother’s are good at worrying about raced through my mind. Again, Jim assured me with the words; He’s going to be fine.”  As we moved Drew to Chicago and helped to get him settled in, I once again prayed for someone to come along to encourage him in his faith and I also prayed for his safety. Again, God showed me Drew was going to be fine, when I heard Drew had found a church, a small group and a Family Group that met weekly. Drew quickly learned how to bloom where he was planted and create a family of his own through these small groups.
 
Two years of Drew living in Chicago came and went. This past March, Drew moved to a new job in Atlanta.   Again, the fret and worry of Drew’s move going smooth went through my mind.  This move did not make me near as anxious since he was moving to the city  where I grew up and he would be close to family. As Drew moved to Atlanta, lived with my parents for a couple of weeks while apartment looking, questions would rise from various family members and at this point I would say; “He’s going to be fine!” 
 
In August, Drew will take the hand of a very lovely young lady, Megan and unite with her in marriage.  As Drew takes Megan’s hand, I will be reminded of how God has taken care of Drew since he left his home.  Then, as they say their vows to one another, I will say another prayer. Only this time, my prayer will be for Megan and Drew and their life together. My prayer will include a life of happiness, opportunities to grow in their faith together,  strength for the down times they will have and, most of all, for their protection as they journey in the days ahead. I know in that moment that God will whisper in my ear “they will be fine.”
 
As a mother, I am a true believer of placing your child into the hands of God. In my experience of motherhood, I have witnessed times with Drew where the only way out of a situation was God clearing the path and placing angels of protection around Drew.  God has re-affirmed to me that Drew is not out there alone nor has he ever been.  However, know that it is not all God’s doing. I have had to work with God in knowing the assurance that Drew was going to be okay. Through the years, I was the biggest cheerleader Drew could ever imagine and probably embarrassed him a time or two. I cheered him on in his school work, accomplishments outside of the academics, in his running and in sharing his love for Christ.  It was years of discipline, wiping tears but, most of all, it was making sure Drew was at church, reading the scriptures with him, praying with him and simply showing him to put his value and trust in his Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ.
 
 For you moms out there whether you are new or experienced, pray for your child/children daily. Place your child in the hands of God. Ask God to feather them with HIS mighty protection. I encourage you to take your children to church, read the scriptures with them, pray with them and show by example what it means to put your trust in God. Along with instilling those values, be your child’s biggest fan and cheerleader!  Then, realize as a child of God that they are never nor never will be out in that big world alone. “He/She is going to be fine.” 
 
Happy Mother’s Day  to ALL mothers this Mother’s Day weekend. May many joys and blessings come your way!
 
“But you must continue in the things which you have learned and been assured of, knowing from whom you have learned them, and that from childhood you have known the Holy Scriptures which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.” 2 Timothy 3:14-15
 
Blessings
About April

Writing encouraging words for a busy world.

Posted on May 6, 2011, in Thoughts from the Porch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

